We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fort Wilkins Museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Wilkins State Park

Fort Wilkins State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An army outpost that kept order in this wilderness outpost in the 1840s.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fort Wilkins Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The summer months are the best time to visit Ft. Wilkins as there are costumed actors performing the duties of life when the fort was active and who answer questions, etc., as an interactive experience. However, we were there after Labor Day but still enjoyed viewing all of the displays and touring the buildings. It all makes you so thankful for our modern homes and conveniences! The walk is not strenuous but very scenic. We even found a few ripe thimbleberries! By the end of September the fall colors should be fabulous to view on the drive to and from the Fort, but we were a little early in the month.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    55
    8
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chadds Ford
Level Contributor
115 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun Family Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

And well worth the drive! We were staying about an hour away from here, so it was a day trip for us. The kids loved exploring the fort. So much to see and hear, a great window into the past as you explore what it was like here in the mid-1800s.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cmbbtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Glimpse into the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

After finishing the self guided tour of Fort Wilkins, you get a good idea how hard life must have been on the Keenawaw 150 years ago. Gosh, no wifi!! LOL! Nicely laid out exhibits with a lot of good information.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We rode to the fort on bicycles as we were taking in the sights of Copper Harbor. The fort is well kept with many pictures of how it looked when it was actively being used as a fort and today. We enjoyed just leisurely walking around seeing all the buildings. Short historical movies of the fort and how it tied in with the history of the area were interesting. Local residents dressed in period costumes were doing errands like carrying water, washing clothes or were in uniform. Beautiful scenery and few people around also made it a very nice experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenSky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A hidden gem on the Keewenaw Peninsula”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Fort Wilkins is a lovely State Park with a lovely restored military fort. The buildings in the fort have been restored in great detail and are well maintained. The location means fewer crowds and less wear and tear than forts in the Mackinac area. My son really enjoyed it and I'm glad we found this place. The state has done a fine job with it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bluzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Wilkins State Park also viewed

Copper Harbor, Upper Peninsula
Copper Harbor, Upper Peninsula
 
Copper Harbor, Upper Peninsula
Copper Harbor, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Fort Wilkins State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing