We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better...”
Review of Mariner North

Mariner North
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copper Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mariner North
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You can do better...”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stopped here while on the Lake Superior Circle Tour. The room (motel - not cabin) was just ok - very dated bathroom, which I could live with but there was a long dark hair on the first hand towel I used (not ours!) and hairs in the corner of the tub/shower. Then the vertical blinds that cover the patio door were missing slats! We were ground level so privacy was very lacking - not that vertical blinds are good for privacy anyway but throw in missing slats and it is ridiculous. We ended up taking a sheet and hanging it over the window. We could not get the wireless internet to work and when we went to ask at the desk we were told it had to be our antenna because it wasn't their wireless - we'd used the same laptop in 6 hotels prior to this without problems. Also, the "source" was less than 25 feet from our room. We could live with it not working but the lady was very rude to us when we went to ask. Bartender was brusque and appeared "put out" by having to bring our drinks. We went to get ice the next morning and the office was still closed (9 am) - two people that appeared to be workers were waiting outside for them to unlock the office/restaurant as well. Very disappointing considering there were some decent reviews.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank l h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
14
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Defiance, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Honestly, when we first arrived, we were a little suspicious of this property. However, we spent 3 nights there, and if back in the area, will stay there again. The room was very spacious, and while everything was a bit outdated, it was clean. Mattresses were comfortable, so we slept well! Would recommend bringing your own towels - extremely thin/worn.
Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The first night we had a drink at the bar and got the lay of the land from the extremely knowledgeable & friendly bartender.
We really liked the location. While in town, we could walk everywhere. Our "touring" took us down the west coast of the Keweenaw Peninsula one day, and down the east coast the next. We feel if we had stayed in Houghton (which we considered) we would have spent only one day going up & down the peninsula and would have missed a lot of beautiful sights!
I think it helped that we acknowledged lodging in the U.P., especially in the western area, was going to be a little more "rustic" than we are used to, but going with an open mind made things easier.
We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We were in the "motel" (8 rooms) on the first floor in the back. Not much of a view, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melnmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Although the employees are very nice, the rooms are outdated and not very clean. In fact, the rooms are not cleaned every day unless you specifically request a cleaning. The towels felt like sandpaper and the bathroom floor had some dirt. The beds are worn and not very comfortable. We appreciated the refrigerator that was in the room as well as the wireless service so that we could hook up to the internet. We also liked how quiet the motel was. I have vacationed in Copper Harbor many times and have found that the Mariner North is the most comfortable facility--most of the other motels are even more outdated and uncomfortable. If you prefer modern accommodations, I recommend that you stay in Houghton and make a day trip to Copper Harbor instead.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stopped by here for a bowl of potato soup, it was more like ham soup, but it was very good. The menu offered a really nice variety of items. The restaurant was quite spacious and it was a good place to relax and enjoy a nice lunch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoosierGirl522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Came here on a romantic getaway with my wife. We chose this hotel because it is pet friendly. The room was very spacious, with in floor heat (my dogs loved that). Beds were good. Hot tub was a nice touch. The onsite restaurant was AWESOME. The service was great, the food was even better! Very nice staff!
My only complaint, and it is a small complaint, is that the cleanliness overall was okay, but the corners and the details have been skipped. However, we did travel in off season, so it is possible that the room had been sitting for a while out of use. But the bathroom, more specifically the tub area is in need of detail cleaning and maintenance.
With this in mind, however, the overall experience of the area, the service, and the people, make this detail very trivial in the overall experience.
We will be back, next time in the summer!

Room Tip: They have many different types of rooms to choose from. We stayed in a room that had a king bed, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deltafox5674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stopped for lunch, four generations ranging in age from 80's to 8. Quite a variety to choose from, but there was only one waitress for a full restaurant on a Saturday, so there was quite a wait for our food. My mother (80's) ordered a steak sandwich, and although the edges of the steak were good by the time she got to the middle it was so tough she couldn't chew it. She did tell the waitress, who offered to have another fixed, but by that time we were all finished with our meal. To the restaurant's credit, they did take that meal off our total bill. We'll probably come back, but might also check out other places instead.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosieCaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channahon, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have stayed here in the past and the cabins were much nicer. I think it's time for an update. Carpet had holes and the mattresses old. For the money, you can probably do better. The location is great- right in the middle of town. Housekeeping staff was very friendly and helpful, but they just need to throw the beds and furniture away and get new. I think a few too many parties have taken place. We love Copper Harbor and the Mariner and I hope they fix things up in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesaroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mariner North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner North

Property: Mariner North
Address: 245 Gratiot St, Copper Harbor, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Copper Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Copper Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariner North is a log-cabin resort located in downtown Copper Harbor, MI, on the shores of Lake Superior. We have two-bedroom cabins and spacious motel rooms available, as well as a full restaurant, bar, conference room, and gift shop. Our restaurant and bar features a wide variety of your favorite foods, including a full dinner menu with entrees like Lake Superior Trout, plus giant sandwiches, salads, and hand-tossed pizzas. We can also handle your private event or intimate wedding with ease. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing