We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic pizza and sub restaurant”

Fricano's Pizza Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 46 Restaurants in Comstock Park
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted Best Pizza in the Grand Rapids Area, in the Mlive "Michigan's Best Pizza" contest in 2013 hosted by Gonzo, our restaurant won the Grand Rapids Press section.The incredible Fricano's pizza has stood the test of time. Our pizzas, including the EBA Everything but Anchovies, are completely unchanged for over 60 years.
Villages, FL
Level Contributor
221 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Basic pizza and sub restaurant”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you're looking for anything remotely healthy try someplace else. We ate there as a result of attending the car show in their parking lot and it was getting late. The group decided this would be okay. After reviewing the choices of pizza, I decided upon the healthier sounding Pizza Primavera - spinach, zucchini, black olives, broccoli, green onions, pea pods, asparagus, feta cheese & garlic is how the menu read. I had no idea it would be buried under a ton of cheese. The menu said nothing about cheese on it other than the feta. Along with the various pizzas for which they are known, your choices are spaghetti or meatball/Italian subs. They've been in business for a very long while so there must be plenty of folks willing to eat what they offer. We won't be back, however.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Comstock Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Pizzaria!”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Fricano's has been an award-winning pizzaria in Grand Haven and Holland for quite some time - now we have our own "sit-down" location a bit closer to home. Awesomely unique pizzas and great service - read my full review at http://snausysnacks.wordpress.com/2011/04/27/fricanos-pizza-comstock-park-mi-review/

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefSnausy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Surprisingly good! Wish we had found it sooner.”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We've been looking for a pizza place in GR for a long time & have always been disappointed until now. Very good thin crust pizza, a little short on toppings, but big on taste. Don't expect free refills or any extra frills. We'll probably stick to take out, but will absolutely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abimichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Astoundingly shoddy on almost every level.”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The disorganized, lackadaisical service begins when you enter and it only gets worse. There are two entrances (one on either side of the building) and NO host to greet you or manage the flow, ever, even at peak times. It's maddening and frustrating and NO way to start an evening. The tables are jammed together in such a manner that you are back-to-back with the person behind you with no room for movement. Forget about relaxed, comfortable dining. To save money they understaff the dining room, so plan on a good long wait until a frazzled, harried, grouchy, fed-up waitress unapologetically comes to take your order. The drinks are an expensive joke. They are overpriced and come in juice glasses! You'll never get a refill and even so, they do not offer free refills on soda, which is outrageous. The food is good - it would not be credible for me to say otherwise. But the portions are small and it is NOT worth the price and the aggravation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SlickGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pizza with nice atmosphere”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Fun atmosphere but the Pizza too greasy for me. You can see it floating on the top

Helpful?
Thank LibLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fricano's Pizza Restaurant also viewed

Comstock Park, Kent County
Comstock Park, Kent County
 
Comstock Park, Kent County
 
Comstock Park, Kent County
Comstock Park, Kent County
 

Been to Fricano's Pizza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing