We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coloma / St Joseph KOA
Nearby Hotels
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Benton Harbor(Benton Harbor)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor(Benton Harbor)(Great Value!)
$88
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI(Benton Harbor)(Great Value!)
$88
$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Benton Harbor - St. Joseph(Benton Harbor)(Great Value!)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$268
$256
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
36
15
13
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
15
13
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew ownersst josephjumping pillowmini golfdonutspool and hot tubbeautiful campgroundlake michiganlabor day weekendsilver beachdog parksouth havencamping experiencegreat weekendfamily reunionlittle priceynext morning
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 80 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We attended a family reunion in St. Joseph and stayed at this campground 3 nights. This is a beautiful campground with lots of trees. Parts of the grounds are old. The electrical hookup was on the opposite side of the trailer which resulted in the need for an extension cord. There were lots of weekend campers and lots of campfires and with no wind there was too much smoke. It was easy to find and close to St. Joseph. We would recommend this campground and would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Yes. Hash browns. More on that in a minute

We could not have been happier with our stay. Let me count the ways this place was awesome.

First off, they give you free hashbrowns in a carton, that you make over a fire. We did with bacon grease. It was sa-weet. Free.

Next...the BOUNCE PILLOW. When we arrived, I was jealous the kids had this huge pillow inflated in the ground to bounce on. Then, one of the park rangers came over with a golf cart and dog to confirm; everyone can do it...even me. People might think a middle-aged man at 210 lbs. bouncing stranger's children off a massive pillow in the forest is weird... but I weep for their ignorance.

Next, secure. So, weird fact: on July 4th, we were surrounded (campsite wise) by people speaking...russian? I guess. Everyone was nice and it made for a fun night, but it was odd a bit. Anyway, one night, one of the tents got rowdy, a lotta screaming and almost fighting was starting. All of a sudden...golf cart. Same one. Same cool "bounce if you want to" dude says "enough! Either you sleep now or you leave now." And dumps water on their fire. My campsite agreed; it was good to know that they dont take no guff OR moxy.

Next, we ate bugs. They sold them in ranch flavor at the shop. They werent good. I regret it... but it was fun for the kids. Tasted like peanuts kinda.

Anyway... I could totally go on and on about this place. It was a great buy, friendly, lotsa junk to do (skip mini golf...sorry) and just neat. Just dandy. Jim dandy.

Keep it up, Coloma KOA. You puttin it down, yalls.

Andrew Vaughn Gamet
Lansing, Michigan

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MegaGamet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Coloma / St Joseph KOA, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for our campground Andrew. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time here, especially jumping on the bounce pillow! Don't tell anyone but we love doing that as well and a lot more adults jump with the kids than you might think. We also take noise complaints very seriously for the happiness of all our guests and we actually have a security patrol drive around at night so we can respond quickly as you described. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We shared the luxury cabin with another family (5 total) and found it well appointed. The campground is beautiful and the pool and spa were clean and enjoyable. It is close to the beach we frequent and the staff was friendly and make FABULOUS donuts...always order the donuts!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bradly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Coloma / St Joseph KOA, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words and taking the time to write a review. We've been making our homemade donuts for years and are so glad you enjoyed them. We work very hard to keep our campground beautiful and clean. We hope you'll come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

So disappointed! We have stayed at other KOA's and they far surpass this place. Crammed in, muddy area with no grass, loud noise allowed, and crummy customer service! Would never go here again. The laundry area was broken down and the water barely ran in the machine. When I asked for help with this I was told that's just the way it is. Final spin left a lot of water in the clothes so it cost much more to dry.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjnana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Coloma / St Joseph KOA, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor and please accept our sincere apologies for the problems during your recent stay with us. July is one of our busiest times of the year so often the majority of our campground is completely booked which can result in the feeling of being 'crammed in' as you describe. We are always evaluating our sites though and will absolutely consider your feedback as we make improvements throughout the park. On occasion we do have issues with our washing machines and have had them repaired recently. In the future we'll be looking at purchasing brand new ones to ensure they are always available. With regards to the 'muddy area with no grass' we have plentiful grass throughout the park so I'm not sure if it rained quite a bit before your arrival but we've had no other similar complaints. Please accept our apologies if this was the case and know in the future we'll be happy to change your site if we have anything else open if you ask us. I hope you'll consider us again for a future visit, we're always working to improve and honest feedback like yours is what helps us do that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIHappyCamper, Owner at Coloma / St Joseph KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews