We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What to do about unruly guests...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Coldwater
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coldwater
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What to do about unruly guests...”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed in a suite. The location was convenient and the room satisfactory. However, the whirlpool needed cleaned again. Additionally, the base boards around the toliet and near the shower were damaged and some ants were present. The work out room was small but adequate due to the cardio machines. There was a TV and small towels available to use, but bring your own water. There is a pool, but we did not use it. Late at night or even early in the morning, there were guests talking loudly in the hall and they had been likely drinking. We thought we heard a staff member address the people about their noise; however, they kept talking and opening/closing a door. After we pounded on our door from the inside,the guests jumped like cats (we saw them through the peep hole of our door) and they decided to retire for the evening. Perhaps with proper scenario-based training, the staff may have dealt better with the situation and thus precluded us from having to intervene. Then again if they had nipped it, we wouldn't have a "war story" to talk about for ages (just kidding). The complimentary breakfast provided a range of quick options and was overall satifactory.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamuraiSandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcoomer, General Manager at Hampton Inn Coldwater, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Coldwater. I am very sorry that there were some loud guest that disrupted your stay, if this should ever happen again please please feel free to let the front desk know so that they are able to take care of the matter. I am very shocked and disappointed that you were not happy with the cleanilness of your room since we pride our selves on this. Also for future refernce we offer free cold water at the desk, we are not a suites so we are not able to put it in the fitness center.

Thank you again for staying with us here at the Hampton and hope that your next stay with us will be a pleasurable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    71
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
92
81
15
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sturgis
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We had the best night here!! Very clean and friendly staff.. The pool was open all night which was the only reason our family stayed was to swim and get away from home for a night. We were very impressed with the room. Very nice and clean! Internet was fast, and good size flat screen tv.. The breakfast was impressive and much more than a continnental breakfast!! Front desk clerk told us at check in what was on the menu for breakfast which was nice!! We plan on making the Hampton Inn our once a month getaway!!! had a great time!! I recommened this hotel to everyine!!!!

Room Tip: we had a double queen bed room and it was plenty for our family of 5!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natashanash12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcoomer, General Manager at Hampton Inn Coldwater, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!! Happy to hear that my TEAM was helpful and friendly to you and your family. We look forward to have you and your family stay with us once a month...very excited about that. Thanks for giving our hotel a try and thank you for putting a review on here! See you all soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is by far the best chain hotel in the area and I have stayed at nearly all of them while visiting relatives over the years. This Hampton Inn is clean, well-maintained and modern. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with up-to-date Wi-Fi facilities and flat screen TVs. Whirlpool rooms have large tubs that provide relaxing accomodations.

The fitness room is equipped with two treadmills, an elliptical machine and a recumbent bike as well as weight balls and in contrast to many such rooms, everything works! The swimming pool is immaculate and the water is warm! The lounge chairs are each supplied with towels.

Breakfast had a good variety of hot and cold items and the area was clean and organized. Service at the front desk was courteous and prompt. Another pleasant stay. No reason to go anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank run4evergeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcoomer, General Manager at Hampton Inn Coldwater, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Coldwater. Thank you for the grerat review, and I will pass this on to the TEAM. Again thank you for staying with us, hope to see you on your next trip to the area.
Tammy Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Level Contributor
164 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I chose this based on reviews and overall it is a nice hotel but certainly over rated according to the reviews. I would say it ispretty average for a Hampton Inn. I did have a few problems though. I started to make a cup of coffee only to find old stale water left in the coffee maker. The ice machine was not working and the heater was very noisy (knocking sound). Also the halls were freezing - no heat. Overal it was clean and comfortable with a nice breakfast are and it is close to restaurants so I will probably give it another try when traveling to Coldwater on business.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rondot98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcoomer, General Manager at Hampton Inn Coldwater, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
I am glad to hear that you will be giving us another try. I am extremely sorry to hear about the water, noise in the heater and the ice machine on your floor being down. I can reassure that these items are under control and have been fixed. Again I truely apologize that you did not have a good expereince while you were here, but can promise that on your next visit that you will be as pleased as our other guest have been. Thank you again for staying with us!! Tammy Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This is a nice, clean hotel. But as of 10/11, the service is really slipping. I am a corporate client who utilizes this hotel often. But recently they have been overbooking and then conveniently saying that reservations were cancelled, but with no names or details. This happened to me recently with some high level customers that was quite embarrassing. We were also treated very badly by the manager and clerk. I don't know if it's new management or what, but something has changed for the worst. I have asked Hilton to do an onsite hospitality audit hoping that maybe their corporate folks can "help" them.

Room Tip: Make sure you reconfirm the day of your trvel in writing as this location will lie to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcoomer, General Manager at Hampton Inn Coldwater, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Sorry for the misunderstanding that had happened with your reservation with the wrong dates being applied and glad that we were able to get things straightened out for you. I am glad that we are still in good standings and to reassure you that this will not happen again. Thank you for giving a chance to fix things. Tammy Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have visited family in Coldwater, MI for many years. We always go to the Takonsha City wide yard sale. Most of the family always stays at Angel Cove camp ground which is very nice but we needed some distance this trip. Our stay at the Hampton was outstanding. I travel my fair share for business and found this to be one of the nicest, friendliest hotels I've been at in a long time. It was so incredibly quiet at night. Even after finding out the place was fully booked. The staff is incredible thoughtful, kind and helpful. The rooms are very clean and had microwave and fridge - the beds are amazing. The location is perfect. Right off the highway. The only thing i could comment negatively on was the lack of parking as some big rigs and trailers took up several parking places. But besides that we were extremely pleased.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcoomer, General Manager at Hampton Inn Coldwater, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank you for the great response to your stay! We are glad that you stay with us on your visits for family and the HUGE yards sales that Tekonsha has, you might want to try to make it sometime for the US12 yard sales its amazing how far they go. Again THANK YOU and we will see you next year!! Tammy Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Several over 50 couples have an annual Michigan weekend and we have stayed at this property twice. The front desk folks are very accommodating and there were no problems with reservations. Everyone was pleased with their rooms. If you are a light sleeper, you might want to ask for a room on the highest level. Our friend, since nicknamed Bigfoot, stayed directly above us and tromped around every morning quite early. This is a nice place and we recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichmondBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcoomer, General Manager at Hampton Inn Coldwater, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
I'm so very pleased that our TEAM made you and your guest feel at home and happy to stay with us. Thank you again for choicing to stay with us and will see you and your family next year! Again thank you for staying with us here at the Hampton Inn Coldwater, Tammy Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coldwater
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Coldwater
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Coldwater
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Coldwater
Red Roof Inn Coldwater
#4 of 6 in Coldwater
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Quality Inn hotel in Fremont
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fremont
16.4 mi away
Days Inn Hillsdale
Days Inn Hillsdale
#1 of 3 in Hillsdale
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Coldwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Coldwater

Property: Hampton Inn Coldwater
Address: 391 N Willowbrook Rd, Coldwater, MI 49036-8847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Branch County > Coldwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coldwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Coldwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Coldwater hotel in Michigan is part of a leading brand of quality, value-priced hotels. Here you'll find clean, fresh, comfortable rooms standard with a coffee maker, iron and ironing board, and a 32'' flat screen television which makes the complimentary in-room movie channel a theatre-like experience. Enjoy complimentary local calls and no surcharge for using a calling card. Guests here at the Hampton Inn Coldwater, Michigan hotel also enjoy the following complimentary items: On the House hot breakfast, Hampton On the Run Breakfast Bags Monday through Friday, and high-speed Internet access in every room and in all meeting rooms and public areas. Also, enjoy coffee and tea in the lobby 24-hours a day, a copy of USA Today Monday through Friday, and our 24-hour front desk with message and fax service available.The Hampton Inn Coldwater, Michigan hotel also features a indoor heated pool, state-of-the-art fitness center and business center. As always your stay is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Coldwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Coldwater Hotel Coldwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing