We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back...”
Review of Asahi Sushi

Asahi Sushi
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean
Restaurant details
Clinton Township
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We keep coming back...”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Looking for a great sushi place in this area... this is the one. Love the creative ways the sushi is served/presented. The quality of the sushi exceeds my expectation, what should feel like melting in your mouth does and the right crunch to ones that should be crisp. The noodles 'Udon' in their menu is favorite of my daughter, very tasty. Service is superb and very very friendly owner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Sushi”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We have tried many sushi places around town and none compare to Asahi. We now use Asahi to judge other sushi palaces. Our visit today was even better then the last and the price is right too...

Helpful?
1 Thank dabbleduke71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Greatest”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Nice place and atmosphere. Freshest ingredients possible. Its obvious we don't live by the ocean to get fresh cuts. So whatever that bad comment about freshness was about, hes from Utah, he probably thought our great lakes was the ocean. But hands down best sushi in town and freshest sashimi. Great customer service and loyalty.

Helpful?
Thank Jimmy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Needs help...”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Every sushi offering in the display case was from frozen product, with the exception of the salmon, which the chef said was "fresh." As a professional sushi chef, I know that salmon, in most states, is one of the only fish REQUIRED to be frozen for a certain amount of time. As a part-time freshwater fish, the freezing period is required by most Health Departments to kill food borne parasites. This varies depending on the fishery and farming practices, when pertaining to farmed fish. It is required of all wild salmon. The other mainstays: tuna, toro, yellowtail, tilapia, escolar (which they incorrectly and misleadingly call "White Tuna (ono)," a common lie in the industry) and tamago all were frozen products. Ono, by the way is a different fish entirely: wahoo, and escolar is not a white tuna, at all... Google escolar, and you may think twice about eating it, at all. I could tell just by looking that products were frozen, and called the chef out on it. Rather than denying, he conceded that 90% of East Side sushi bars use such products, with an incredulity, as if thinking..."how do you know all this?" I didn't tell him how I know, just advised that if he wants people who know anything about sushi to return, he should use fresh products. Further, I told him that this is evident in looking at the clientele of a West Side sushi bar, Izakaya Sanpei, in Plymouth, bustling with Japanese business, because everything there is authentic, fresh, and made in-house. On a positive note, the service was good and welcoming, the atmosphere decent, and the chef... well nice try... He had the good humor to ask me if my Asahi (funny namesake, but no relation) Beer was good. Of course it was... it would be hard to f- that one up!

Share your review

Shared on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Email to friends

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dogger65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best sushi”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I know its surprising to see in a busy strip mall,but this is one of the best sushi places around. I usually come here when i crave sushi, very clean restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asahi Sushi also viewed

 
Clinton Township, MI
 

Been to Asahi Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing