We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay, thank you Sue and Tim”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Long Crendon Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Long Crendon Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 Long Crendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing stay, thank you Sue and Tim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Staying at Long Crendon Manor is an opportunity which should not be missed! Sue welcomed us with a cup of tea in the Great Hall (where the pub scene from Women in Black was filmed) and we found Sue and Tim to be wonderful hosts and very knowledgeable on where to eat and visit.

We stayed in the Yellow bedroom which was beautifully furnished and the bed was really comfortable. As the weather was so warm, we took a dip in their pool which was terrific having done so much sightseeing.

In the morning, we were given an excellent breakfast, eggs laid by their chickens and home made sausages from the rare breed pigs they keep on their land.

In summary, Sue and Tim are perfect hosts, the house is UNBELIEVABLE and if you're looking for an escape from London (or anywhere!) then there's no better place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    13
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
21
44
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The place is beautiful. Unfortunately from the word go I was left with no illusions that we were there as an unwelcome but necessary help in paying for it's upkeep. We took 3 rooms for a family 70th birthday gathering and local visit to Le Manoir (which is fantastic by the way). We're a very quiet family but all of us found Sue abrasive and sarcastic on separate occasions and all felt we wished we'd gone elsewhere. The room was nice and well appointed and full of character though they seemed to scrimp in the basics like toilet roll. A beautiful place but completely spoilt by made to feel unwelcome

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
14 Thank MarkScu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The building is amazing. However, we both found Sue rather sarcastic. I am not sure if it's her sense of humour. We arrived and the only parking place was in front of a gate, so obviously it is not clear if you should park there or not. I went to the door and introduced myself and said 'My husband isn't sure where to park.'. To this this she replied, 'How much space does he need?' I was so polite, but I felt she took an instant dislike to me for some reason. However, we also heard her be equally sarcastic to some other guests at breakfast. We met Tim in the stunning grounds and he seemed very friendly indeed. The place itself is incredible. However, maintaining a place like that is a nightmare, so you need to be prepared for the odd cobweb and unstable bannister etc. Having said that, it is rare to get to stay in a place of that age. I just wish the hostess was a bit more charming. Even the couple to whom she was sarcastic (and it wasn't only me who thought this - the people with whom we went thought the same) thought she was very friendly, so she obviously impresses some people. The sausages from the home-bred pigs are an extremely reasonable price to buy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DonnaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed one night in the Yellow Bedroom. We couldn't believe the size of the place. There was the beautiful large bedroom/sitting area, then you walk through to a dressing room, then through to the bathroom! The property is old, but everything modern is there, including wi-fi access. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was gorgeous and everything was extremely clean. We were woken up early by the hens in the garden, but it was wonderful to look out of the window and see them below. It was like a scene from a country painting!

The breakfast was gorgeous - plentiful and very tasty.

We could definitely recommend Long Crendon Manor, and it would be lovely if we could go again, for a longer visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreaandphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Climping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked to stay overnight but wished we had booked for 2 or 3 nights. You approach the manor through very old wooden gates set into a massive stone wall. The place takes your breath away as it is built in a combination of old mellow stone and timber. Inside is no let down, furnished in Jacobean style, you have breakfast in a beautiful dining room at a long refectory table. The bedrooms are individual, large and comfortable, furnished with antiques. We had the Yellow room. Sue made us welcome and we enjoyed a home cooked breakfast which included sausages and bacon made from her own pigs meat. It is well worth a visit and we look forward to returning there as soon as we can make it.

Room Tip: Lady De Lisle room was at the end of a corridor and had a separate but private bathroom and a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous manor in pretty surroundings. A lovely place to stay after just tying the knot! We stayed in Lalines room very spacious, warm and a nice comfy four poster after a lovely but long day! Sue was friendly and loved the dogs.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waffle05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

You couldn't hope for a better stay. Sue had all the time in the world for us despite her busy schedule running this amazing place. Breakfast was superb, good food and great surroundings. We'll be back for sure...couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marthom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Crendon
3.1 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#3 of 3 in Thame
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
5.6 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Crendon Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Crendon Manor

Property: Long Crendon Manor
Address: Frogmore Lane, Long Crendon HP18 9DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Long Crendon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Long Crendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Long Crendon Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing