We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Brewing & Food Menu Much Improved” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Lotus Brewing Company

Black Lotus Brewing Company
Ranked #5 of 54 Restaurants in Clawson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Detroit Metro Area
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice Brewing & Food Menu Much Improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We've gone here quite a bit, & for awhile their food was nothing to write home about. But they got a new manager, came out with a new menu quite some time ago. Food is VERY good, quite tasty! Casual menu, more sandwiches & salads, but extremely well done. Great sweet potato fries with a wonderful aioli for dipping. Love the Mushroom Madness sandwich, very good. You can have a really nice meal here & it will be quite inexpensive. Beers are up down; we've had some we've really enjoyed, then the next time we go, the beer choices might be 'eh'. We are really into the craft beer & they have to be good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanLoretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    34
    6
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good beer, don't come for dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The beer at Black Lotus was very good, however the food was only mediocre. Seating in their lounge area is preferred, and you can sit there for a few beers with friends and have an enjoyable experience. I would recommend eating elsewhere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluefield007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley, Michigan
Level Contributor
204 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good beer, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Naturally a good brewery is going to pair their fine crafted beers with some good food - I really enjoyed it and look forward to going back again soon.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank IntegrityMatters52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great brew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

this place when i went had a great lunch special. one burger and a pint for around five bucks. i don't go as much anymore but they have a great outdoor sitting area and a good neighborhood vibe.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,258 reviews
1,085 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
“Had a great experience here - highly recommended for casual meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a place to go for a burger [or sandwich] and a few beers. Good beer selection $4, sandwiches for $10 - hard to beat that. Service was spot on all evening. Casual bar atmosphere without being to loud. Nachos were outstanding! Very unique salsa also rec'd.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Lotus Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Black Lotus Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing