We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisting an old favorite”
Review of Via Bologna

Via Bologna
Ranked #9 of 80 Restaurants in Clarkston
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Revisting an old favorite”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We used to go here all the time and got out of the habit. Went back a few weeks ago and have been back twice since. Food is amazing (eggplant parm and meat ravioli in particular) and the bread is to die for. Great service, too! Good for family, friends, dates...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank starbuck1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    6
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I recently had dinner there with some friends. The restaurant is smaller with an intimate atmosphere. The service and food were very good. I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you are hungry for Italian food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Former-Ohioan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OMG u got to try this place!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

5 star service, real amazing Italian food, made from scratch, flavors are right on, just like Italy! I order the pasta Frutti de Mare, and since some times other restaurants make the sauce really tomatoish I ask for some white sauce on the side, I got a delicious sea food Burro reduction, that complemented my dish, it was to die for. We also had the Fillet Mignon medallions w penne pasta, they melted in your mouth! Desert Cream Brûlée, just awsome, we had the manager come to out to the table just to make sure that my special request was to my satisfaction, and everything was, One recommendation, don't were a white top! Buonasera a tutti.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CUSOON2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Via Bologna a winner!!!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

What a great find thanks to my foodie fanatic sister-in-law!!! This was a wonderful, very authentic Italian restaurant. Really like the bread's arrival in a paper bag and the accompanying dipping sauce. Great food from the terrific calamari starter (will absolutely try the antipasto plate next time) to the great house salad with the tomato basil vinaigrette and a wonderful spaghetti carbonara. Nice variety of dishes on their brand new spring menu and a large wine list. SIL's Hob Nob Pinot noir was wonderful. Great service and wonderful ambiance make this a fine restaurant. Only disappointment---this place was empty tonight (ok, so it was a Monday night) but it deserves a crowd every night. People---get in your cars and drive to this place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wateford, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The most authentic Italian experience in Oakland county”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Via Bologna has an unassuming presence in the White Lake Commons shopping center off of Dixie Highway and White Lake Road. As soon as you step inside, you find a small but elegant restaurant reminiscent of a what you'd find in Tuscany. They have a six-place bar (my favorite spot) and maybe a dozen comfortable table settings. This place has quickly moved to the top of my list as my favorite restaurant in the area. Both the menu and wine selection is comprehensive, and I have yet to try anything that isn't spectacular. In particular, the lasagna is heavenly. Be sure to also try one of their four versions of bruschetta. Food aside, the staff is also very friendly and attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviator26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Via Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing