We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth our drive”

Clarkston Union Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 80 Restaurants in Clarkston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth our drive”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food, especially the mac n cheese. Having to drive around for a bit to find parking, and seated next to a party with 7 children were the only drawbacks. We are excited to come back to try the smokehouse as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aunttela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    100
    22
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston
Level Contributor
159 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Brunch Selections and Beer!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This place is the sister restaurant to the Clarkston Woodshop and shares some of the same favorites. We are lucky to have these two fine restaurants in one small city. It is very, very busy, so get there early. The hot feature is the Mac and Cheese which is made with 5 cheeses and is very good. I love the Sunday brunch, where the menu is fine and the music is a nice touch.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One word: yummy!!!!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Thanks to Kid Rock finally visited for the Mac N Cheese. Yummy. Seriously so. While hated the hour wait the food totally explained the why the wait wax so long. Six of us plus a baby and everyone enjoyed their selections. Waitstaff went out of their way to appease the baby too!!!
Hoping they do carry out for next visit though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fivecallmemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beer”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Excellent selection of craft Beers. Sitting outside drinking a beer, on a sunny day, does it get any better than that?

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
119 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“No big deal”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This place has been highly overrated in our opinoin. We have been there a few times, each time hoping for a better experience than the last. The place is hard to carry on a conversation in and tables are so close you touch elbows with the people at the table next to you. This last time I had the lobster Mac and Cheese and found, maybe, two pieces of lobster. To their credit, when I pointed that out they took it off the bill, stating that it wasn't up to their standards. Our guests had the same experience with the amount of ham in the mac and cheese they ordered. The corn chowder was look warm and had very little taste. That was the final time we will give them a try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank padmill0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clarkston Union Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Clarkston Union Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing