We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Doherty Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doherty Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clare
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I recently stayed 2 nights at the Doherty Hotel in Claire, Michigan. The rooms were spacious, clean and very quiet. The Doherty is a 4th generation locally owned hotel and I was impressed with the customer care and service provided by the hotel staff and ownership.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    63
    23
    11
    41
See reviews for
41
57
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owosso
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Doherty in room 330 on the Bike and Hike Package. The room was large enough to store our bikes and was very clean. The bathroom had a shower only, but that was fine with us. The bed was comfortable and bedding was clean. The room was quiet and we were not disturbed during the night. We used the hot tub and the pool and thought they were very nice. We had a refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. I thought the package was a good value with $15 per person credit towards dinner and Sunday Breakfast Buffet was included in the price of the room. We also received "Trail Snacks" to take with us the next day biking back to Midland. The snack consisted of an orange, bottle of water, small bag of barbeque potato chips and a small bag of nacho cheese Combos. I would have preferred an energy bar or something else more healthy. Overall I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 330 was quiet and still convenient to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryKayOwosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here while on a 4 day golf outing.A great hotel with all the amenities anyone could ask for.
Great rooms and an indoor pool and hot tub to boot.
Fantastic buffet breakfast and a Bloody Mary on our arrival. Right on Main Street in the quaint little town of Clare. All anyone could ask for. Will be sure to be back in the not distant future.

Room Tip: Put this one on a must visit list
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weezer9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwater beach
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We wanted to stay in Mt. Pleasant but it was back to school weekend for Central so we stayed in Clare rather than pay $250. or more. Our room was a king non-smoking. We had a frig and coffee maker. Chose to eat dinner in the restaurant rather than drive to Mt. Pleasant. Our dinner was great. They had a soup and salad bar. the steak was perfect and the bloody mary's were great. Also used the indoor pool ( little cool) and the hot tub (very hot)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhouse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here during my husband's grandmothers birthday celebration. It was your average hotel with some old time charm. Staff was very nice and helpful. We used the area by the pool for an after party. It was a very nice pool and lounge area! It looked like one of the nicer hotels to stay in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheljowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Doherty hotel surely looks fascinating as you enter the lobby with it big chandelier and huge space...we didn't book it before, we took it as one night break while traveling...room is decent big,bed good...they provide toiletries, coffee in room....no microwave or refrigerator was there....price was good and competitive...they offer breakfast free weekdays and weekend we paid 10.95 per head,,..it was good with plenty of choices with live custom omelette counter, fresh fruits ,pancakes, toast,cereal,sausages,,,..waiters were really helpful, always trying to please you which is great....dining staffs are really awesome,,they do have a jacuzzi, good size swimming pool...overall great choice when you are neighboring area...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anasuyatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have been staying here so long that I have forgotten how many years I have been coming here. My spouse and I often stay here if we have a concert or football game in Mt Pleasant and it is always enjoyable. The Pere-Marquette bike trail now starts across the street from the hotel by the library and runs to Midland. One of the best in the state and now convenient to park/stay at the Doherty and ride the trial. Biking the trail was the reason for our visit this time around Check in was easy and quick and actually, they allowed us to check in early as our room was ready. The restored old floors in the lobby are beautiful. Room was very clean and lots of space in the king suite. After returning from a concert in Mt P we drank at the bar for about 3 hours. Staff there was great, especially the bartender, and people at the bar were all very friendly. Quiet night's sleep and even the wedding going on the evening at the hotel was no problem. It is an older hotel but they more than make up for it with friendliness and customer service. Will continue to stay here when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikeboy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clare
14.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
#2 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
458 reviews
16.7 mi away
Courtyard Mt. Pleasant at Central Michigan University
Courtyard Mt. Pleasant at Centra...
#5 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
57 reviews
14.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mt. Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Soaring Eagle Waterpark and Hotel
14.5 mi away
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
140 reviews
17.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mt. Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doherty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doherty Hotel

Property: Doherty Hotel
Address: 604 N McEwan St, Clare, MI 48617-1499
Location: United States > Michigan > Clare County > Clare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 157
Also Known As:
Doherty Hotel Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing