We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for quick stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dairy Phil

Dairy Phil
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Clare
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Michigan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice for quick stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were passing through Clare and wanted something other than the typical fast food places - this was a great find! My husband and I split one of the BBQ combos. The BBQ was very good, but I really liked the fried green beans and the potato salad was also very good. Prices were more than reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mitravelinfamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrison, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“planned surprize”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

well i had planned a surprize that day i had a bunch of coupons good for when ever we wanted to go their, not sure on the date or the dates on here don't go right, but we had a group of people who got to enjoy a free sundae or icecream that day and for free wasn't to bad it was very warm that day, but it was a day well planned,,

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bonniekf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Ice cream / takeout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I love the malts. Old-time atmosphere. Great barbecue too - pork, beef, and turkey. Other "drive-in" food too. No curb service or indoor seating. Picnic tables outdoors.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Michigan_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Add 60's Music for Memories”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stopped by for some ice cream on a whim, they have both soft serve and regular. I and my wife had the regular while the couple we were with had the soft, everyone enjoyed their cone. You could tell by the line and the aroma this place must put out a pretty good meal too! There were several people waiting for their BBQ or burgers. Had to try the fries, you know something salty something sweet! Heading north or south it's worth the stop, so get off the X-way and let your mind go back to the 50's and 60's, then you'll remember the day long trips UPNORTH!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LJB049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
292 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Like a walk into the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We spent three days in Clare and had to visit Dairy Phil every day for ice cream or the great burger and fries meal. The food is delicious and the staff very friendly. The prices are excellent. Loved sitting at the roadside picnic table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sroeauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dairy Phil also viewed

 

Been to Dairy Phil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing