We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OFFICER, TICKET ME...”

Cops & Doughnuts Headquarters
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Clare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: There is a doughnut shop and bakery in Clare, Michigan that has been in constant operation since 1896. This foundation business was within weeks of closing when the members of the Clare Police Department came to the rescue. All of them. That's right, all nine members of the local police department banded together to save this historic business.Dubbed "Cops and Doughnuts," the business boasts handmade confections of all types. Join us for a warm fresh doughnut and a steaming cup of Cops Coffee while you enjoy the police decor and friendly, and very safe, atmosphere. Come and see the new store in Clare that everyone is talking about.Since opening as Cops & Doughnuts our business has expanded in to other adjoining store fronts allowing us to ad the "Cop Shop" our apparel and souvenir shop. And the "Traffic Stop Diner" featuring many American Diner favorites.
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“OFFICER, TICKET ME...”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

... and gimme a dozen mixed.Yep, this is the place. Clean, great display cases. No wonder cops are so fat. Donuts are great. And these guys are incredible. Retired flat feet and all, which I say affectionately.

First, cops own and run the place. In fact, they saved this bakery. Second, flavor, flavor, flavor. Third, looks... beautiful.

Best of all, they chat with the guests, guns in their holsters and other cops regalia. Very hilarious.

Big, big, big is what the donuts are along with the coffee, which is incredible.

We had a great lunch there and took home bunches of donuts. And, some cop stuff, just in case we get pulled over. Go there. Take a cooler so the donuts don't get smashed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StepOnBusTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    59
    21
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
227 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Died and gone to Cop Heaven”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Fat, filled custard donuts with great coffee. Okay, I'm dead and this is Cop Heaven. Yes, it is that good. I am still trying to figure out how I "ate the whole thing" when I opted for the custard filled éclair. There were so many donut choices - and I absolutely went nuts in the gift shop. Had to get the orange "Cops and Doughnut Inmate" shirt!! Yea, I'm a fan. And if I lived closer, I'd be a BIG FAT FAN!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of the best bakeries in Michigan”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

When you first look at the bakery cases, your first expression will be "wow". The display is awesome...big donuts, big rolls, biggg cookies. The prices are very reasonable. You're going to want to take one of everything. Whenever we visit Michigan, we try to make it Traverse City and we always make sure to stop in Clare for our Cops & Doughnuts fix. Don't miss this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KitkatDallasTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A must if you're anywhere near Clare,MI”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you want a good cup of coffee and a donut, pastries or pies, this is the place to go. The prices are very good, just $2.89 for a fresh cinnamon roll big enough for two people. The adjacent building is a cop shop museum and gift store with coffee mugs,t-shirts, and all the usual suspects one finds in a gift shop. It's a fun experience and you might even get to meet one of the cops who own the bakery.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Many different choices”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We picked up a few things to go recently when we were passing through Clare. They have many different doughnut and bakery choices. We settle on a couple of cookies and three doughnuts. Both of the cookies were better than your average bakery cookie and the doughnuts were really good. We especially liked the peanut creme filled long john!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mitravelinfamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cops & Doughnuts Headquarters also viewed

 

Been to Cops & Doughnuts Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing