We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foggy's Steakhouse

Foggy's Steakhouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Christmas
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Near Munising, MI
Level Contributor
140 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

They offer good food and excellent service. Their prices are reasonable. Good sports bar with a pool table. Plenty of room to accommodate large groups. Just across the road from the casino.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    75
    41
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service, deceiving looks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We went to Foggy's on the recommendation of a nice couple who have a cabin in the area when they overheard us asking at a coffee shop in Munising for dinner recommendations - they said the white fish and the ribs are to die for, and not to be fooled by the fact that the place looks like a total dive from the outside.

They were right on all counts. The place looks like a local dive bar, but once inside the atmosphere was light and fun, the employees were working hard (our waitress was -literally- running from table to table), and the food was some of the best we have had in a full week of vacationing and dining out. In fact, I think the ribs I had were the best I've EVER had in a restaurant. My wife indeed went with the white fish, lightly battered and fried, and it too was excellent.

Next time we vacation to the U.P. there will be a side trip to Christmas just for Foggy's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Menotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Foggy's in Christmas in August”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great steaks-- grill your own if you like, homemade lasagna, fresh whitefish and many other items (mexican, pizza, burgers, shrimp etc.) I personally loved the whitefish and my husband loved the lasagna. Daughter had Lime spicy chicken which was a huge portion and very tasty.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Pretty good restuarant, good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Foggy's gets mostly a thumb's up. It was nice and cool inside on a hot day and there was some quirky live music by a girl who "almost" got chosen for America's Got Talent". I think thousands of people "almost" get chosen for the show, but it was a nice atmosphere.

I had the fish platter and it was generous and lightly breaded. My wife had the pizza and it was excellent. The second time we had the nachos and I have to say, they were the worst we've ever had. It should be hard to screw up nachos, but they managed it.

The service was excellent though, and it's really the only place in Christmas so overall a good experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadaMoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Low expectation with a very good end result!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We rented a vacation property in Au Train and stopped in the little grocery in town. The owner, whom my wife found out is a local tour guide, provided us with the Foggy's tip - she was dead, solid on target! It was last Saturday night 7/27/13, and our party of 6 had dinner here. Its not mjuch to look at and even less impressive when you walk inside. You can cook your own on a giant iron gratge island grill or have Foggy cook it for you. Most of our party had the Prime Rib which had been cooked the same day and only finished about an hour earlier. I was starved and again ( if you read another of my recent reviews where I was disappointed with a piece of Prime Rib I had in Escanaba you'll understand this), I was in the mood for Prime Rib. And it was fantastic! The other two member in our party felt the same way. Three others in our party had the fried perch and loved it as well. I don;t know about the other menu items but the Prime Rib, which they run out of quickly (and no wonder), is fantastic!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheckster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foggy's Steakhouse also viewed

Munising, Upper Peninsula
 
Munising, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Foggy's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing