We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprising find in the UP”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Pine Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Christmas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Pine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Christmas
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“surprising find in the UP”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had spent the day hiking in pictured rocks. Did a fairly decent hike 9.6 miles, had gone on the glass bottom boat tour and went to check in. It was surprisingly really nice. Rooms were clean and neat, hot tub was awesome. Unfortunately internet had been out due to an electrical storm two days prior to our arrival. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I liked that they had a store that had a nice stock of supplies. Definitely would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pandita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    43
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
39
52
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I took the wife up to see the Pictured Rocks for her birthday.I was a bit concerned about
the lodge but I was pleasantly surprised with the accomodations & friendly helpful staff.
room was spotless...quite...comfortable...good selection of channels on tv..$5 promo
for next door casino.Breakfast was ok, coffee was wonderful, there could be hot breakfast
sandwiches or breakfast meat added, but there were choices.Easy walk to casino..and
good food at casino. They have a gas station & mini-store right there attached to lodge.
I will stay there again when in the area. Sauna very nice too! Keep up the good job!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danville, Illinois
Level Contributor
122 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We and another couple stayed one night. The hotel appears to have been totally upgraded and clean.
The continental in the am had quite an array of offerings. The casino is next door should you so desire.
The staff were very accommodating in answering our many question on what sights to see in the area.
We ate at casino so no other recommendation on where to eat. We did not use the pool. The lodge has a mini
Store on sight but did not purchase anything so cannot comment on its products or prices.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank illiana_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our family stayed here about 3 1/2 weeks ago.Although the staff seemed nice the small amount that we dealt with them, our room was not clean at all. It very obviously had been used and not cleaned before us. The bed had the throw pillows put in 2 areas in the room and the two bed pillows had shoulder indents on them,the bedspread was not pulled up and tight fresh looking it was pulled loose and down about a foot or so like it had been throw back together,the shower had a used bottle of shampoo in it (it was clearly the missing toiletry on the sink as there was no shampoo only a little lotion there) and hair in the bottom of thr shower. The garbage can had some kind of red gross substance in it,honestly looked like a loogie. We would have left or asked for another room but we were told it was the last one and that there were no other rooms at any hotels for a very,very long time. It was already 2AM by the time we checked in and we had very young little ones with us so we had no choice but to turn a blind eye at the moment. We could not safely continue driving the distance we were told it would be to another hotel with how fatigued we were.Now that we are home and settled and from our two week travels we cannot ignore our bad experience. Out of all the hotels we stayed in on our travels even ones that cost less this one was the dirtiest and most disapointing. We didn't think it would be at it's $119 price tag. Very disapointed...P.S I also posted this review on their website which they never posted it. It appears they are only posting positive reviews and deleting the negative ones. BUYER BEWARE!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

After making a last minute decision not to camp at Pictured Rocks, we made a reservation sight-unseen at White Pine Lodge. We were incredibly surprised when we arrived. Unlike many of the seedy-looking roadside motels in the UP, White Pine Lodge is large and clean. The staff was incredibly pleasant. The rooms were decorated like an upscale nursing home, but it was clean and comfortable.

There is an attached convenience store and gas station. Not really a romantic getaway, but it was fun to pick up a bottle of wine and walk to the room. Also within walking distance is a casino and a great restaurant/bar. Pictured Rocks cruises is just a 10 minute drive down the road. We would totally stay again if ever in the neighborhood.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AliOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, MI
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stopped on our way back to lower Michigan from northern Minnesota on a Friday night. The lodge was recommended to us by a motel in Munising that was full. We received good service. The room was clean. The continental breakfast was okay. No issues, would stop again for a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalbachten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Michigan
Level Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We only took this room as there was nothing else available in a 50 mile radius. It took a long time to check in as this facility is also a gas station and right next door to a casino. They has only one young lady working the "desk" and she had to do multiple jobs. Not wise on a Friday night when everyone is looking for a rm. The cost: WAY over priced. Rooms: not worth the money. People were friendly but I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gravesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christmas
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
6.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
2.5 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#3 of 11 in Munising
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
5.9 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
5.3 mi away
Alger Falls Motel
Alger Falls Motel
#8 of 11 in Munising
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Pine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Pine Lodge

Property: White Pine Lodge
Address: E7889 W State Highway M28, Christmas, MI 49862-8945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Christmas
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Christmas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, convenient!! Right next to Kewadin Casino, on snowmobile trail, 16 person Jacuzzi, continental breakfast 6-10am every morning, 24 hour gas and convenience store w/beer & wine, all Handicap, Single Queen, Double Queen and Single King rooms include Fridge, Microwave, cable TV, iron/board, and hair dryers, Free WiFi access. Foggys Steakhouse (across the street)and Trails End Bar & Grill within walking distance. Formerly known as the Pair a Dice Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Pine Hotel Christmas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing