We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Experience at HIE”

Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chelsea
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is my favorite family lodging chain for one very good reason. I recieve very good value and consistent service at these hotels. The Chelsea HIE is no exception. The place was well maintained and clean. The beds were comfortable. The temperature control worked well and was quiet.

The staff is friendly and the management were ever-present helping us out and asking if there was anything else we needed. The breakfast was even opened a bit early to accomodate our activities. It was well stocked and replenished well into close. The staff were engaging and seemed interested in providing a high level of service.

This is a must stay location when traveling to Chelsea. It is right off of the exit and surrounded by fast-food for families on the go or downtown resturants just down the street.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank TheMItraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSEF H, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear TheMltraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Express, Chelsea MI

We all appreciate your loyalty to the IHG Brand and to our location in Chelsea MI, I am very proud of my team for their consistent efforts of providing our guests with clean rooms, comfortable beds, hot delicious breakfast and an outstanding service with a smile and also for going Above and Beyond to accommodate all our guests needs.

I must agrees with you that our Location is ideal for both Business and Leisure travelers with easy access from I-94 and a wide selections of restaurants to choose from.

As a Senior Contributor on TripAdvisor with over 39 reviews in 20 cities nationwide, your compliment definitely goes a long way. On behalf of the entire team, I like to thank you very much for your encouraging words, I appreciate your compliment of the Staff performance and of the Operation overall.

Sincerely,
Josef H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 248 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

I was there on business and tried downloading some files, the fastest download rate I saw was 26kbs ( don't even think about any online gaming or streaming any movies ). The TV isn't any better, while all the other Holiday Inn's have in room cable boxes and HDMI cable connections, this place is still running coaxial cable from the wall. Only a couple of channels are viewable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GPolinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSEF H, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear GPolinski,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay. On behalf of the entire team i like to apologize for falling to exceed your expectation regarding the TV channel selection and the WI-FI downloading speed.

I like to take this opportunity to address some of your concerns, As far as our Band Width, it meets and or exceed our Brand Standard requirement for the size of our hotel, if you experienced a problem with online gaming and movie streaming so the system have serve its purpose as it should not permit online gaming or move downloading as it clog the entire system and deprive other guests form having their fair share out of the band width . Our system is equipped with a build in safe guard to prevent such activity form taking place.

As far as the TV channels, our TV sets are High Definition comparable therefore we do not need an external cable box like some other hotels that using this box as their TV sets are not HDTV comparable and the only way they are able to receive HD signal is by having the large cable box attached to their old TV sets rather than replacing the entire set. Our Hotel Much newer TV sets Currently carries over 50 TV channels with almost half of them in HD.

Mr Polinski, Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvement to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our future guests.

Sincerely,
Josef H
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Last year I stayed at this hotel and wrote an average review. Since that stay, I have been back 3 times. Each fo these visits have been great. Staff, rooms, hotel, TV, pool, and all the other amenities have been perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSEF H, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Ken S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Review about Our Holiday Inn Express in Chelsea, Welcome back for the third time in a Row and Thank you for your Compliment to our Great Staff, our spacious clean rooms, our relaxing pool and our Large Selection of TV channels.

As a Senior Reviewer on TripAdvisor, your compliment definitely goes a long way. We appreciate your patronage and value your opinion.

Sincerely,
Josef H
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The first night was during New Years Eve and it was extremely noisy. The second night was on New Years Day and people were again pretty loud. The floors make a lot of noise. They seem to be poorly made and it is easy to hear people running down the hall or closing doors. The walls aren't the most soundproof either. Once I complained about the loud noises, it quieted down. The staff is friendly and efficient. The continental breakfast is good with eggs, sausages and toast, yogourt and cereal.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor. It will be a bit quieter since you will not have anyone over yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear lyly21,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that or breakfast options were up to par with your expectations and four our staff friendly and efficient. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the noise issues you have encountered. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have stayed here numerous times visiting family. This hotel has a new manager after being staffed by the bank. He is young, values his staff and his guests and there are visible changes. It is clean, the beds are good, the staff is lovely. They are nice, helpful, remember you and go out of their way to be helpful. Watch the manager! He sets the kind of example you see from an excellent principal in good schools. He is nice to the staff, values them, rolls up his sleeves and pitches in to give them time with their families. In the worst ice-storm for decades, he came in at 5 am to personally re-salt the parking lots for safety. Find a problem, he'll go after it immediately. He models performance for his staff. He has completely changed the mood of the place. AND he has installed a pool-side automatic chair for the elderly or handicapped to be able to get into the pool safely. There is a good free breakfast with muffins, pancakes, toast, cereal, eggs, bacon/sausage, juices, coffees, tea, yoghurt, etc., and free newspapers. Most importantly, this hotel is clean, has free W-Fi and is a nice place to stay. We actually extended by a night, and the rates were unbeatable.

Room Tip: Holiday Inn Express is pretty quiet. It is a block further from I-94. Just go towards Chelsea from I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zarinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Chelsea, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our property! We loved to hear from our guests and love that you had such a pleasant experience while you stayed with us! As stated, we have undergone management change at the hotel and are glad that you were able to see all the positive changes that have been made.We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Chelsea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel - very friendly staff. We come here repeatedly, and you can see the property is under new management - and a decent hotel is being upgraded. The hotel is easy to find, clean, good value with free wifi in rooms and lobby. The exercise room and pool are clean and modern.

I travel internationally and stay at Hilton Garden Inn, Sheraton, Holiday Inn, this is definitely worth staying at if you're near Chelsea.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank APerson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Chelsea, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for your positive review! We appreciate any and all feedback that we receive. We are so glad that you had such a wonderful stay and we hope to see you the next time you are in Chelsea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Room was very clean. Hotel room needed updating but still very clean. Jacuzzi Tub was nice, but slightly small for two adults. We couldnt figure out the exhaust fan over the jacuzzi tub; seemed it had to be shut off by tripping the circuit on the lightswitch? Either I didnt do it right or it just seemed odd. Slept great otherwise! We will be back!
Breakfast was always well stocked and delicious. Wish there was a meat though to go along with the breakfast.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank karenl0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Chelsea, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Please be assured that all comments are considered as we are continuously trying to find ways to better improve the hotel . We hope to see you again on your next trip to Chelsea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelsea
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Chelsea
107 reviews
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Weber's Boutique Hotel
Weber's Boutique Hotel
#14 of 35 in Ann Arbor
414 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea

Address: 1540 Commerce Park Dr, Chelsea, MI 48118-1450 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Chelsea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chelsea
Price Range: $88 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chelsea Hotel Chelsea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing