We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it was okay”

Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chelsea
chicago suburbs
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“it was okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

The pool was small. Breakfast was pretty good. Hotel wasn't particularly clean. Seemed under-staffed. I'd say the property was just beginning to show some wear, but there were no real obvious flaws. Convenient to the highway.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank matrepok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    58
    30
    17
    17
See reviews for
81
46
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
214 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

For a quick overnight stay on the way home from vacation, we could've done much worse than this hotel. Everything was clean and the room was reasonably spacious, and the staff was competent. For a roadside hotel, this one was better than expected.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rams1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN USA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed here one night for business. I normally stay at the comfort inn next door. I will not stay at this Holiday Inn express again. It is more expensive than the comfort inn, and I didn't feel the customer service was good ... Plus I had to book an advance purchase room, and paid for it months in advance, but to the hotel tried charging me for it again. ... Until I had to spend 20 minutes on the phone with the corporate customer service to get it straightened out. THEN the front desk person apologized. But what a waste of my time.
I did learn that this hotel allows dogs-- which, I think is a good thing. It was clean and everything, but just not my favorite place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BizTravelerLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear BizTravelerLady,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel as well as your clean and comfortable room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced with your bill at check out. We are also very sorry you were not satisfied with the service provided by our hotel staff. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

The family and I stayed here for a night in April. The hotel was very clean and quiet. The pool is small and there is no hot tub, but it's nice enough for a swim. Our room was spacious and clean. You can also open the window a couple of inches to have some fresh air, which I thought was really nice.

The front desk wasn't always staffed, but there aren't away for long periods of time and they do post a sign letting guest's know that the have stepped away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesweetsinMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Currently at this property right now. We chose this location after the Holiday Inn Express across the street wasted my time, and patience. As we arrived at the HIE at 1 am on a very foggy night of traveling on I94, we were told by "Mike" that he was currently in the middle of doing his night audit, and it may be about 15 mins. When I went back about 15 minutes later, and rang the bell in the lobby. I was ignored. I returned to my vehicle for approximately another 10 minutes, and went back to the the lobby. I rang the doorbell, just like the directions tell you to, and yet again "mike" never acknowledged me. I rang the bell, an audible bell that I could here, and again I Wasn't acknowledged, that is when I chose the Comfort Inn. The service at the desk here is great. The room is great, and I look forward to the breakfast. Thanks Comfort Inn for saving a weary traveller on a foggy night!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyboygunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is a run of the mill Holiday Inn Express located just outside the beautiful town of Chelsea MI. It is just off Rt 94.

The bed had a plastic mattress liner under the sheet that we had to remove to get a good night's sleep. To their credit they did not put it back on when they cleaned the room.The hotel was very quiet even though it was full. The complimentary breakfast had some hot items like eggs, sausages, biscuits & IIRC, waffles. Nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

There was a football game between U Of M and Wisconsin on Saturday, November 20Th. 2010 in Ann Arbor, the Holiday Inn of Chelsea got the overflow fans who couldn't find accommodation in and around Ann Arbor thereby giving it "license" to jack up the price of their mediocre cookie cutter type standard rooms from $91.20 to $161.50, on Friday November 19Th., when adding the State tax of $9.69 and County tax of $8.08 added, it came to a grand total of $179.27

Congratulations Holiday Inn of Chelsea, Michigan, you were able to stiff me once, but you won't get a second opportunity even though I pass though Chelsea often..... because once bitten, twice shy.

As for the "breakfast" area, it was like a mob scene with both the Michigan and Wisconsin College football fans.... talk about no room at the Inn.
My Wife and I were just too happy to continue our journey through the heavy mist that Saturday morning into Ohio.
So traveler beware. If I have helped just one innocent, that will be at least something.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelsea
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Chelsea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
20.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#11 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
18.1 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea
Address: 1540 Commerce Park Dr., Chelsea, MI 48118 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Chelsea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chelsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chelsea Hotel Chelsea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing