We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, big city taste in small town restaurant”
Review of Common Grill

Common Grill
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Chelsea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hours are Tuesday-Thursday 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM, Friday-Saturday 11:00 AM to 11:00 PM and Sundays 11:00 AM to 9:00 PM
Ann Arbor
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent, big city taste in small town restaurant”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food, the service always the best. Fresh seafood daily, steaks and pasta done to perfection. Only downside is how noisy it gets during dinner, with ceiling.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    90
    37
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Food in Chelsea MI”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

IF you are ever in Chelsea, Mi, The Common Grille is the place to eat. The food is so fresh and delicious! By far, this place has the best service, atmosphere and very friendly employees. The Gazpacho is to die for, as well as their rolls and salads. Very fresh seafood dishes and their steaks melt in your mouth. Highly recommend this place to anyone who passes thru Chelsea, Mi.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RAJ1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, great seafood (and other) selections and enticing specials”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It was difficult to decide what to have--we will have to return to try some of the other selections! I had seafood pesto pasta, which was excellent. My daughter had shrimp potstickers and gazpacho, and my husband had another seafood dish. All were delicious. We very much enjoyed the hot fresh bread. Our wait person was very good; just the right amount of attention, just when we needed it. We did not have to wait; we arrived at about 5:45 PM. The restaurant became increasingly busy. We did not have room from dessert, but walked down the street to Zou-Zou's to buy something to take back. We stayed at the Chelsea House Victorian Inn, which was wonderful and was less than 5 minutes walk from the Common Grill. Reservations are only accepted for parties of 5-6 or more, but same day call-ahead placement on a waitlist is available.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food Common Grille downtown Chelsea”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This Common Grille restaurant is right downtown Chelsea. Please do not confuse it with the Chelsea Grille also on Main St. We went to both. The Common Grille , near Middle street and Main in walkable downtown is a superior dining experience. The waiter , the atmosphere, friendliness, clean , great food. My husband had the Salmon, I had the Perch. Really good. We had to try each others. Best restaurant in town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A highlight of a day in Chelsea, MI”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

With a group, we toured the Jiffy Mix plant (reserve ahead of time if you want to take the tour), had lunch at Common Grill, and saw a delightful play at Jeff Daniels' Purple Rose Theater. Common Grill has an interesting menu, excellent service even when the room is packed with people, and delicious food. Chelsea is a charming small town, well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sanchogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Common Grill also viewed

 

Been to Common Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing