We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Craig Common's Common Grill Izzzzzzz”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Common Grill

Common Grill
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Chelsea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hours are Tuesday-Thursday 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM, Friday-Saturday 11:00 AM to 11:00 PM and Sundays 11:00 AM to 9:00 PM
Buena Vista, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Craig Common's Common Grill Izzzzzzz”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Quite frankly uncommon.....been going there to eat...with friends..... on dates.....on business....and alone just to eat since it opened a little over 20 years ago [??]. It is the restaurant that I compare all others to, and I have eaten well all over the world and every continent but The Anti-Artic One.
So this is my revenge on Craig the owner who is the chef and The Divine Mizz P The Queen of The Front.

You will find no white table clothes here but white cloth napkins yes and the quality of the service is the standard by which I judge all others. Most come up slightly wanting, even is Chicago or Paris but more on those later. Craig has rules and one thing I know for sure is that you will have to put up with a chirpy "Hi my name is whatever" and no employee is allow to smoke while on the job....period.....no waiting in this joint while some idiot takes their last two puffs before remembering....."Oh piddle......should have given that one table their billet doux before I had that ciggie......crummy tippers anyways!!" Chef Common does have his rules and one is he does cook any more but watches his students [many who have gone on to open their own joints] and somethings comes out ready and the wiatron is busy [they never stop moving] the he will serve the meal and a greeting. I was once half way thru a very delicios slice pork tenderloin when he came out and took it out from in front of me announcing that I should never should have been served it in that state. Could have fooled me but what do I know.

OH YEAH....bring ear plugs......NOISIEST joint the the world when it is busy and working under a full head of steam.....no the time for a romantic tryst.....late lunches at the grill are best for that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    81
    37
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
150 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great complement to the Purple Rose Theatre”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Many people who are going to the Purple Rose Theatre come to have dinner at the Common Grill. Despite its name, it is definitely not common and not really a grill. A top notch restaurant with great food and service. Make a reservation in advance.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank delidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Attentive service and enjoyable dinner”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

A trip to Ann Arbor/Chelsea that included a Saturday evening dinner at the Common Grill. We stopped at the restaurant around 5pm to put our names on the “reservation” list, walked around Chelsea, had a drink at the Irish Pub, returned at 6:30pm and were promptly seated. Nice selection of specialty drinks (recommend the pink grapefruit martini!). Started with oysters which were large and fresh. The Tuscan Pear Salad was a unique option with the pears providing a touch of sweetness with the vinegar dressing. The Grill's Bouillabaisse had plenty of seafood and a flavorful base. The Grill’s Seafood Risotto had a creamer sauce with shrimp, lobster and scallops (although slightly overdone). The wait staff was fabulous – helpful and attentive. Be advised that the restaurant was quite loud due to the chefs shouting orders in the kitchen and the open space building design in the dining room. Worth a trip!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveOurVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant not to miss!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent waitstaff and the food is outstanding. Lots of choices and a great selection of FRESH seafood! Chef Common is regularly in house! Buy his cookbook or buy all his cookbooks - great stuff!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, MI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Common Grill has many wonderful dishes as well as daily specials. They also have VERY yummy rolls that one can enjoy prior to dinner. C.G. has a nice adult beverage selection, something for everyone! Although the place can get loud, everything else is superb.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kewoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Common Grill also viewed

 

Been to Common Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing