We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The outside will make you wonder. . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chelsea Grill

Chelsea Grill
Ranked #17 of 38 Restaurants in Chelsea
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Street, MI
Level Contributor
181 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The outside will make you wonder. . . .”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Ads may be expected, the wait was too long at the ever-popular downtown-Chelsea-located Common Grill for Saturday night walk-ins, so we returned to the car and eaded back toward Ann Arbor to explore other options. We happened upon the Chelsea Grill located in a strip mall. Hmmm. . .what IS this place? Looked like it could be a Coney-Island-type family restaurant. Was it open? Windows were dark, but we could see that lights were on. So we chanced it and went in. At first blush, it did look somewhat like a Coney Island with a mix of booths and tables. The hostess was very pleasant, greeted us and seated us promptly. No wait on a Saturday night. That could cause suspicion. The special on the board was steak with asparagus and au gratin potatoes for about $27, one of the highest-priced items on the menu.
The waitress (Cathy) was also prompt and very friendly, knew the menu items and seemed honest in her recommendations. I ordered a craft beer that was very tasty and another in our party had a Birthday Cake Martini, which was also yummy. The menu was varied and creative. I did order the steak special and it was excellent! The au gratin potatoes were unlike any I had before. Our table guests also had a creative ravioli dish, the salmon dinner with sweet potato wedges and fresh green beans, and a funky grilled cheese with ham and multiple cheese types on it. All the meals were satisfying and delicious. Homemade fresh, crusty bread was delivered while we waited. The bill for four meals and two alcoholic beverages came to $94.
The place did not disappoint.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 206JanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    21
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Brunch At It's Best”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have traveled quite a bit and have had brunch at many places, but I have to say that the Chelsea Grill is my favorite. I do live in Chelsea, but that does not make me a Chelsea Snob. I do not favor places in my hometown unless they are really special. And this is the ONE!

First, they serve brunch until 3pm. This is great because I wake up at about noon due to my work schedule. Second, the service cant be beat. I bring my 5 year old here and they will cater to her off menu. She is a picky eater and will only eat the healthiest of foods, They made her a fruit platter to die for(for a five year old that is.)

Brunch is simple, but creative. You can only pick from French toast or an omelet, but I promise you that you will never be disappointed. Every week is a different menu. Would you like an omelet made with asparagus, avocado, sun dried tomatoes, cream cheese and andouille sausage served with hash browns and English muffin, or do you have a sweet tooth and would like the French toast soaked in egg custard with caramelized bananas and peaches with granola and cream on top? Kudos to the chef!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
237 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Dated decor, great food”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We weren't expecting much when we saw the decor of the restaurant. We were pleasantly surprised. Both of our entrees were very good, the wait staff was attentive and pleasant. We will definitely go back again. Don't judge a book by its cover.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Pub style restaurant”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

For an Irish Pub it has all of the ingredients, great fish and chips, barbeque ribs and nice sandwiches

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank prbrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Lake, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Great Food, hidden gem!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I think many years ago they had a slow start, but this place has turned out to be quite a great place to eat! Everything I've had was excellent, from the loaded salads to my favorite sandwich in the whole world, the Cubano!! A little loaded with jalopenos, the best, but be sure to ask to omit them if you'd like! Nice outdoor patio, if you don't mind the parking lot, still charming, as well as the most tasteful of decor inside and out!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chelsea Grill also viewed

 

Been to Chelsea Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing