We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chelsea House Victorian Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chelsea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chelsea House Victorian Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Chelsea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My experience with Chelsea House Victorian Inn has been from a meeting perspective. I have scheduled several meetings over the years at Chelsea House Victorian Inn. Jim and Kim Myles always go out of their way to make sure a meeting runs smoothly, equipment required is available, and that all details are taken care of. In all of the years of using this location, we have never had one negative comment from our attendees. In fact, when our attendees become aware of this location, they are very eager to attend. Kim's homebaked surprises are phenomenal and always a great treat for our attendees. Also, a great location and within walking distance to the Common Grill. This is a wonderful meeting space for anyone who appreciates the personal touch for their meeting needs.

Kitty Adkins
ProQuest

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 150 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a great weekend staying with Jim and Kim in this lovingly restored victorian home. It is located perfectly between The Common Grill and the Purple Rose. We felt right at home. The accommodations are a perfect blend of vintage and modern convenience. It was wonderful to stay in this great old home that Jim and Kim have saved from demolition and returned honorably to the condition it deserves. As if that isn't enough, breakfast is magnificent!!! Bravo all around.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hansenk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed with here several times. Great location within walking distance of the Purple Rose and the Common Grill. A charming and cozy B&B thanks to the attention of owners, Jim and Kim. The beds are luxurious and I wouldn't miss the crepes for breakfast

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnabeaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife & I have a tradition of going to the Common Grill in Chelsea for dinner to celebrate our anniversary that goes back over a decade. This year, for the big "two-four", I decided to splurge and have us stay overnight after dinner and then go see "On Golden Pond" at the Purple Rose Theater the next day. My initial selection of Chelsea House for our stay was honestly as much location as anything, but my wife's reaction as we drove up let me know I might have made a really good choice. From the wonderful welcome from Jim as we walked in to the fan-freaking-tastic breakfast the next morning (this was following a meal at the CG - which is not an easy act to follow!), from the vintage appointments (like old-school push button light switches) to the more modern touches (digital alarm clock & small flat-screen TV) and everything in between... well, it's this good: not only will we return sometime soon, but I'm sitting here typing a review to make sure Jim & Kim get the recognition they deserve - something I almost *never* do!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Periodically I take my wife on a mystery date, an outing where I tell her to pack a bag and get in the car for an undisclosed destination. This time the destination was Chelsea House Victoria Inn. She was thrilled when we pulled up in front of this beautiful home, whose owners Jim and Kim Myles have lovingly restored to perfection. They were extremely welcoming and warm hosts who willingly shared conversation, history, and helpful facts about the area. Our accommodations were in the carriage house, a secluded suite with living, dining, kitchen, bath and bedroom. It included a delicious breakfast served in suite, which we were able to enjoy in the plush bathrobes they provided. The Inn is perfectly located close to downtown restaurants, and Jeff Daniel's Purple Rose Theater. The Inn, dinner at Common Diner, and "On Golden Pond" at the Purple Rose Theater made for a wonderful 38th anniversary "mystery date."

Room Tip: Pick the "Carriage Room"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RAJA5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

It really was . From the first Hello from Jim to the tearful Goodby to Kim they make sure you feel comfortable . Having lived at Cavanaugh Lake 55 years ago I wanted to share Chelsea with wife Mary. What better way than to stay in town . Jim and Kim made sure we knew where and what to see to make the most of our time . Chelsea House is more than you expect for style and character . The Breakfast that Jim prepared for our stay was to die for . You will enjoy your stay .

Room Tip: They are all 4.0 .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Chelsea House Victorian Inn is a gem. "Innkeeper" is a title Kim and Jim Myles clearly take great pride in. They have painstakingly restored this beautiful 120 year old home literally from the ground up. It is obvious that every decision along the way was made to honor the integrity of the home and that dedication to every detail now extends to honoring the experience they deliver to their guests. From the signature crepes at breakfast through their guidance and concierge services our stay at the Chelsea House Victorian Inn was a true delight.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGK22905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chelsea House Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Victorian Inn

Address: 118 E Middle St, Chelsea, MI 48118-1033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Chelsea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chelsea
Price Range: $120 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Victorian Bed & Breakfast, Trip Advisor Circle of Excellence Award winner & the only lodging located in downtown Chelsea, blends historic charm & elegance with modern amenities essential to travelers: private baths, Free WIFI, AC, Cable TV, parking, premium room amenities and hearty breakfast, within walking distance to all cultural activities, The Purple Rose Theatre & Common Grill Restaurant. Cyclist friendly. Minutes to Ann Arbor and the U of Michigan. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing