We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like family!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fleetwood Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fleetwood Inn and Suites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cheboygan
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Just like family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We came through Cheboygan for work and decided to stay at the Fleetwood for 2 nights. We loved it so much we stayed there AGAIN three weeks later when we came back into town! The fact that work was paying and we still stayed here as opposed to the pricier places in town, well, that should tell you something as to how great the Fleetwood actually is.

It's family-run, and because of that it feels way more homey and comfortable than any of the chains ever do. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfy, the views over the river are fantastic - that's right, every room is waterfront! Wifi is free, breakfast is free, and we even got sweet room upgrades to a suite - also free. There's a bunch of great restaurants within walking distance and a plaza across the street with a WalMart and a grocery store. Heck, the Fleetwood shares a parking lot with a Walgreens, you can't get any closer!

In short, this place is a gem. I don't know if I'll be swinging through Cheboygan again, but if I do, I know where I'm going to stay. Mike and Angela, you guys are awesome. High five!

Room Tip: All rooms are river front - first floor rooms have walkouts to the docks, whereas second floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandafantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    43
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
56
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

It was our first time to the area and the our first experience was checking in at about 2:00am in the morning and Mike was super nice and go us settled in quickly. We had a great view right on the river and a really cool place to eat breakfast or have a drink. Mike and Angela and the rest of the staff were all super friendly and we would for sure stay here again on our next trip to Cheboygan! Cheers!

Room Tip: Try and get one on the first floor facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

The Fleetwood is an outstanding hotel.The room was spotless. Everything worked well.The room was well appointed. I like that there is a coffee maker and real cups.I also enjoyed the room that has both an interior and an exterior door.You get a great view of the Cheboygan River.You can walk down to the docks and sit by the river.The area surrounding the hotel is very peaceful. Too bad I was there only one night, but gave me a great idea for vacation time.I highly recommend The Fleetwood.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We highly recommend Fleetwood Inn & Suites. This is our second stay here. Clean updated room for a great price. Best Western next door wanted $40 more for a king jacuzzi room. River side view is awesome (we brought our boat on our first stay), and service very good. Two thumbs up from us.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macgillivray02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

All of the rooms in this hotel overlook the river. We were on the second floor and it was great to sit out on the balcony and watch all of the boating activity on the water. We also enjoyed walking down to the docks right in front of the hotel. Great setting! Our room was clean and had a small fridge. There were a few restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, which was convenient. A few breakfast items were available in the main lobby.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nickelcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed for one night driving through Michigan - tried to get into Best Western with no reservation but they were booked so we tried the Fleetwood Inn - had no problem getting a room. This was a real surprise, beautiful setting - we had a room on the first floor with a patio that opens up to green space, just outside your door was the waterway with boat docks - there are patio chairs for you to sit on - very relaxing watching the boast and many ducks. The room was nice an clean - bed was average - bar fridge in room. Breakfast is included in the price but don`t bother - it`s just a few donuts and coffee best bet is to go across the street to McDonalds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lichty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairborn, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Fleetwood tries hard, but has seen better days. I'm sure that in the 1950s, this was a great place to stay. But its age is showing, and Cheboygan has seen better days. The floors are wood underneath, and noisy. There was an odd musty smell in the room, and the parking lot was filthy. I still fail to see why a "room for two" deserves only a "washcloth of one". The very tiny patio by the river is pleasant, though, with a nice view. Ducks by the river will visit you, expecting food. The water is softened, making that, at least, pleasant. The staff is very nice. I can tell that they are trying, but don't seem to have much to work with. I would not recommend this hotel to my friends/family, nor would I stay there again if in the area. I would recommend going a little north to simply stay in a nicer place in Mackinac city.

Room Tip: Water is soft. Rear balcony facing river in every second-floor room, small patio in facing river in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkK46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanFleet4, Owner at Fleetwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Fleetwood Inn, we sincerely appreciate the patronage as well as your feedback. Your reviews help us maintain the #1 hotel in Cheboygan!!! We only wish we could get this feedback while you were here so we may have the chance to make your stay more enjoyable.

I can assure you Mark we are trying hard to be exactly what we are, clean, friendly and affordable; and from the 59 dollar rate you paid, I'd say you got a great value too! We do not claim or advertise to be anything more than we are. If you were expecting 5 diamonds with a spa and concierge, you clearly didn't do your research. We may be better for campers, but its a given, Cheboygan is truly and outdoor lovers paradise. We boast the BEST rivers, lakes, and trails in all of Michigan. The Inland Waterway that your room walked out on is second to none in the state. If staying somewhere "nicer" to you means staying in Mackinaw with the congestion and crowds, you may be better off doing just that. Cheboygan is a quiet, quaint town with friendly people, cool shops, and excellent mom and pop restaurants.

Again, we appreciate you giving Cheboygan a try and hope you will be back to visit again.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheboygan
1.3 mi away
Continental Inn Cheboygan
Continental Inn Cheboygan
#4 of 5 in Cheboygan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
16.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
15.6 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#28 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
20.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
15.2 mi away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleetwood Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleetwood Inn and Suites

Property: Fleetwood Inn and Suites
Address: 889 S Main St, Cheboygan, MI 49721-2219 (Formerly Cheboygan Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Cheboygan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cheboygan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fleetwood Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Fleetwood Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleetwood Hotel Cheboygan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing