We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, warm friendly feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fleetwood Inn and Suites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cheboygan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

After traveling the chain of lakes the Fleetwood was the perfect ending of a great trip. We were warmly welcomed with a smiling face and asked if they could help us in anyway during our stay. The rooms are spacious and they had a refrigerator which was nice. They called to get a van to bring us to the restaurant they suggested which was very helpful. That night they had movie night for the kids outside which was great. I haven't been to a more inviting, relaxing hotel. We will be back again next year. Way to go Fleetwood!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great because they face the river for a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyboater2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 134 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I have traveled to Northern Lower Michigan 1-2 times every year to tour the Inland Waterway since 2006. We trailer our boat to Petoskey from Grand Rapids, starting our trip in Crooked Lake and ending the day in Cheboygan. We always stay overnight at Fleetwood Inn & Suites before returning to our starting point the next day.

The rooms are clean and neat, with a small patio or deck (depending on 1st or 2nd floor) overlooking the waterway. Some rooms have jacuzzi tubs, and I think most if not all rooms have refrigerators and microwaves. They are in the process of renovating several of their suites prior to the upcoming season.

The boat slips are well maintained and perpendicular to the water; most other locations on the waterway only have a way to tie up to their seawall or walkway, which allows waves to hit the boat broadside. The dock has well placed cleats and posts for tie-down, and appears to have been recently refreshed/stained.

The owners live on the premises at the very center of the hotel, and they seem very attentive to needs. On our most recent trip (Memorial Day Weekend 2013), the owner even met us at the dock with our room key when we arrived.

There are restaurants and drugstores within walking distance, and a shuttle to Mulligan's which is a good local restaurant. They offer a free continental breakfast as well, but Big Boy is right next door if you need heavier fare.

Room Tip: If you are traveling by boat, the first-floor rooms are best choice since you're right outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHibschman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanFleet4, Owner at Fleetwood Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for boating and staying at The Fleetwood. We believe we are the BEST place to stay when boating in Northern Michigan, and guests like yourselves are a pleasure. We enjoy living on site, it gives us peace of mind knowing visitors to Cheboygan are walking away with a great experience.

We sincerely appreciate your patronage and we hope to see you again.

Cheers!!
Mike and Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

beautiful scenery outside your patio room, each room has a patio. bring a fishing pole to fish at the river outside your room.each room comes with a ref, freezer also a micro wave.and also close to shopping and restaurants and a hospital. parking is convienent close to the entrance doors.each stay comes with a continental breakfast, felt more like I was staying with a family atmosphere than a strange motel.

Room Tip: any room you choose will be quiet because they are away from the main highway traffic,also if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triplenickle-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. Very clean and spacious. Located right on the river it has excellent views. Staff is very accommodating. Located within walking distance of Walgreens and Big Boy. Had breakfast at Big Boy and it was great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginlee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We wanted to stay at a decent place the night before going to Mackinac Island, away from touristy Mackinaw City and found the Fleetwood through TripAdvisor. Our room was very clean, we enjoyed our private balcony overlooking the river and the price was amazingly reasonable (we were traveling by car, not boat). And Cheboygan is a "real" town a short drive away from the craziness of Mackinaw City.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CriticalGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had high hopes for this unique hotel; however, our 2 night stay at the Fleetwood Labor Day weekend was inconvenient and disappointing.

We paid over $170/nt for a queen non-smoking room with boat slip and taxes which is way overpriced for this hotel and the area.

We arrived early (noon) on check in day and were told it would be an hour until our room was ready, which was great. We launched our boat at a very nice ramp a few miles from the hotel and then tried to pull into the slip that was assigned to us; however, there was another boat in it. I went to the front desk to get another slip and that one was covered with goose/duck droppings (so bad that you could not walk on the dock without stepping in it). I asked if we could have another slip, but was told it would be far from our room but they would clean the current dock (it was cleaned by the 6 pm when we returned from our day of boating).

We returned an hour later to check in, however, the girl at the desk realized that on our confirmation we had requested a first floor room and the room that had been cleaned was not on the first floor so that would be another hour until we could check in. So we went back in another hour to check in.

The room was in desperate need of updating (tube TV, outdated and damaged furniture and decor, etc.), and cleaning (cob webs hanging from the ceiling, stained carpet, etc).

I confirmed prior to making our reservation that the hotel accepted AAA and received an email that 10% would be discounted at checkout. When I asked about this when checking in, the person at the counter said the hotel was not affiliated with AAA and, therefore, did not accept it. I responded to the email I received saying they did accept AAA and asked if it would still be honored. The response email said the 10% would be taken off our bill, however, when I checked out another person at the desk said they did not accept AAA on weekends. I showed them the email, they asked for my card and because it was a temporary card they could not accept it. I am not sure why since it had my name, membership number and expiration on it. It was accepted, without problem, at the other hotels we stayed at on our week+ trip up north.

We, also, did not know until checkout that there was a $12/day extra charge for a boat slip. I did not see anything on the hotel website, reservation site or in our confirmation that stated this. We, also, did not have a boat in our slip after 11:30 a.m on the 2nd day because we were out on it and then put in on the trailer for the night in preparation for our departure the next morning, however, we were charged for it.

I would only recommend this hotel for under $80.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwayz_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanFleet4, Owner at Fleetwood Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the Fleetwood Inn. We are very concerned with your review and your less than pleasant experience. As you can see from our other reviews, your experience is not indicative of how we operate our property. As owner managers, we live on site and take very personally the needs and concerns of all our guests.

We wish we were made aware of the issues with your accommodations while you were here, so we may have had the chance to correct them, it is a priority for us to make sure all our guests leave the Fleetwood well rested and pleased with their stay. Hopefully you will give us the chance in the future.

And remember, we are always happy to honor the AAA discount with a VALID and current AAA card at check in. Please feel free to contact us with your current card and we will glady reimburse your discount.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to getting the chance to win your patronage in the future.

Sincerely

Michael and Angela VanFleet
Owner/General Managers
Fleetwood Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

If you are looking for a five star hotel at a reasonable price, this is definitely the place. It is on the Cheboygan River and each room has french doors that open to a patio or balcony that overlook the river. Our room was very clean and the beds were cozy and comfortable. Our room was equipped with a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator. The room was beautiful with blending decor. The owners are friendly and make you feel welcome. The breakfast they offer is fresh and convenient. As for a good nights sleep, it was the best we'd had in a long time. Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanFleet4, Owner at Fleetwood Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you, thank you, thank you for your patronage!! We enjoy what we do and always look forward to having our guests leave the Fleetwood with a smile.

Cheers!!

Mike and Angela VanFleet
Owner/General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheboygan
1.3 mi away
Continental Inn Cheboygan
Continental Inn Cheboygan
#5 of 5 in Cheboygan
54 reviews
15.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
16.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
15.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western River Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleetwood Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleetwood Inn and Suites

Address: 889 S Main St, Cheboygan, MI 49721-2219 (Formerly Cheboygan Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Cheboygan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cheboygan
Price Range: $70 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fleetwood Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fleetwood Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleetwood Hotel Cheboygan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing