We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Disappointed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN River Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN River Terrace
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cheboygan
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We having been bringing our boats up north to cruise Michigan's Inland Waterway for over 12 years.
We have always stayed at Best Western River Terrace in Cheboygan and have never been disappointed!
The rooms are above average as far as Best Westerns go, and always very clean. The people there are always nice and very accommodating, and willing to help or make your stay as comfortable as possible.
The location is perfect for cruising Michigan's Inland Waterway! Go north toward the locks, and Lake Huron, Mackinaw city, Mackinaw Island, or Duncan Bay. Or head south and west down The Cheboygan River, Mullett Lake, Indian River, Burt Lake etc...
There are also some great restaurants in the area including some quaint ones.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momx03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    94
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
87
93
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Made our reservations by phone en route from the Southern part of the State. A Saturday night and there was room at the inn. Yay! It was a last-minute decision to go to my class reunion - a mere 24 hrs in the car to see 4 people I remembered... but it was great; mostly because of the River Terrace.
I have stayed there probably 20 times over the years, and remember it well from my childhood when it was the 'dive' where relatives stayed when in town. It come under new ownership around 1980 when it was completely renovated, expanded, redesigned, jacuzzi rooms added (a first for Cheboygan), a pool, dockside boat deck...
For the past 8 years or so, it has been under new management who seem much more interested in customer satisfaction than recouping their capital investment.
There is a very special room which was the reception office in days of yore (when it was a 'dive'). It is a separate building with it's own parking space and no neighbors - but just across the parking lot from the pool and breakfast room.
Nice King bed, huge jacuzzi, spacious, great climate control, sink separate room to shower and toilet. TV with way too many channels, free in-room wi-fi. Excellent housekeeping.
Breakfast was sub-standard, even for 'continental', and breakfast staff was less-than-engaging. But the "Big Boy" restaurant adjacent to the parking lot is consistently acceptable.
Bonus info: "Cheboygan" is Ojibway for "mouth of the river"; in this case, the Cheboygan River which runs directly parallel to the hotel only a few feet away.

Room Tip: Go for the former reception lodge, unless I am in town and wanting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goddess-of-Luxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Rooms were clean and spacious. Shower was good and strong and the front desk was helpfull. Breakfast was small and not mucht to write home about but did the trick. I did like the view of the river and it was nice to sit and watch the world go by. Would recommend if you need a place in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were traveling in the area and booked a room at the River Terrace on 6/1. The room was extremely clean, with new window treatments, bedding and carpet. The room was much larger than the average room, and was equipped with a desk, couch, fridge and two queen beds. I was highly impressed with the hotel and would recommend it. It was within 5 minutes from downtown, and within 5 minutes to the docks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wils9362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel markets itself as pet friendly, which made me skeptical about the cleanliness of the room. However, our room was exceptionally clean and well appointed. The view of the river from our little back porch was very nice and mosquito-free, unlike the rest of the town. Well worth the extra $10 for a riverside room. A bonus was the chance to observe a wood duck sitting on her eggs in the hollow of a large tree, like a Keebler elf. The staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful in recommending the best restaurants in town, all two of them. Breakfast was so-so.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $10 and get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

While on a golf road trip with friends, we spent two nights here. Reserved room, site unseen and was not disappointed. King size bed room was large, wet bar area, separate sink/mirror area was great for getting ready in the morning. Second floor patio with awesome view of river. Main Desk, Tim, was great. Easy check-in and always willing to offer suggestions for dinner ideas. Will definitely use this again if in the area. Pool area was extremely clean with a changing area and hot tub to enjoy with large glass wall to also enjoy the river. Fitness center available. Complimentary breakfast was standard fare, but excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottie-dear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Checked in by a friendly gentleman , and was surprised by lovely views of river from room. We sat out on our balcony for early evening drinks , even though it was slightly chilly in May. Breakfast was great .... Would most certainly come back to stay after spending the day on Mackinac Island

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith31555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheboygan
0.1 mi away
Fleetwood Inn and Suites
Fleetwood Inn and Suites
#2 of 5 in Cheboygan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.2 mi away
Continental Inn Cheboygan
Continental Inn Cheboygan
#4 of 5 in Cheboygan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
15.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
15.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
21.3 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN River Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River Terrace

Property: BEST WESTERN River Terrace
Address: 847 S Main St, Cheboygan, MI 49721-2219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Cheboygan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cheboygan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN River Terrace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the scenic Cheboygan River in northern Michigan, the Best Western River Terrace is committed to providing the best in customer service and accommodations at an affordable rate. Our hotel rooms feature cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary continental breakfast, heated indoor swimming pool and hot tub, exercise facility, boat docking and business services. Pets are also welcome.Guests enjoy being close to key area attractions such as the Cheboygan Crib Lighthouse, the Cheboygan State Park, Cheboygan Memorial Hospital and Mackinac Bridge. Only 12 miles away, guests can visit beautiful Mackinaw Island and Fort Michilimackinac. This riverfront hotel also offers convenient access to local events such as the Wanigan Festival, the Cheboygan Country Fair and Riverfest.Make your reservations today, and the friendly staff at the Best Western River Terrace will ensure you have a fun-filled memorable stay in Cheboygan, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN River Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western River Terrace Hotel Cheboygan
Best Western Cheboygan
Cheboygan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing