We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic - not much in the area - cannot walk to anything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charlotte
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
227 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Basic - not much in the area - cannot walk to anything!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

First of all - room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. This is the most important. Right off the major highway which is good however it is remote to the community and you cannot walk to anything close by. You must drive to get something to eat. Registration staff were very courteous. I would probably the next time, drive a little further on to Lansing if going east.

Room Tip: The area is remote to anything else and well off the highway so in my view all the rooms are quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCharlotte, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charlotte, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Dennis,

Thank you for taking to time to post a review of our hotel. It is good to hear that you did find our hotel nice and clean and our staff friendly! I apologize that we are not closer to the downtown area with all of the restaurants, but luckily we are right next door to Meijer which has a great selection of most anything as well as a Subway inside. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again for the simple fact that our staff was helpful and our rooms were comfortable!
Thank you again for reviewing our hotel. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    34
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
15
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed here when i had to trailer a friends car back north due to a transmission troubles, this was a nice hotel clean rooms nice cont breakfast and the night clerk was helpful. It was just off of the 127 Which was very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCharlotte, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charlotte, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review of our hotel. It is great to hear how your enjoyed your visit with us! I hope that the next time you are in the Charlotte area you will choose to stay with us again.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
328 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great property in a good location. Clean and neat!

Arrived fairly late and without reservations.

Welcome was OK but staff dress very casual.

No recognition for IHG Rewards Club Members - No IHG Bag of goodies.

Rooms are average to a little better except that we booked two Deluxe King Rooms and when we arrived at the rooms one room had no sofa at all but all the space, lamps and accent tables???

It was late and we met in our room that was fully furnished.

When we checked out and mentioned that there was no sofa the staff seemed non concerned and laughed and that was that??

Staff seem to want to have a smoke break more than servicing clients and at best are less than professional.

Breakfast was the average IHG fare no more no less but the coffee was good!

Room Tip: Check to make sure all the furnishings are there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TangoForFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCharlotte, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charlotte, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest.
I would like to express my sincere apologies that your recent stay with us was less than you'd expect, With our hotel being 11 years old, we are in the process of remodeling the entire building with guest rooms being our first priority, While viewing our furnishings, 2 of the sofas were unsafe to remain in the rooms due to springs or other metal parts protruding through, which would have become a guest safety issue. I made a decision to remove both sofas immediately, as our guest safety is and always will be our number one priority.
AS we move forward with the extensive renovations, all new furnishings are being installed in each room, making this another exciting PLUS for our guest experience.
I would like to invite you back once the renovations are complete, so you can experience the NEW HOLIDAY INN Express in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our staff was there for a 2 day meeting and was very unhappy with service, facilities, etc. We were in a small meeting room for 40 people and neither one of the air conditioning units worked. It smelled in there and was so stuffy that it was hard to concentrate on the meeting. The hotel does not offer any catering services therefore we had an outside service (which was awful) bring in snacks and lunch. Only 1 bathroom to use on the main floor so there was always a line....they need a better meeting setup and restroom facilities to accommodate 35 women. Staff stood right outside the entrance to smoke so we had to walk thru a cloud of smoke every time we entered the hotel. Very poor welcome!! I would recommend driving to Marshall or Lansing for a meeting or hotel stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kncreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charlotte, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear kncreviews,

Thank you for the candid review of our property as this will guide us in making the right decisions. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with the staff. Please be assured that we treat this matter seriously and will be discussed with the management. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A large group of us stayed here and the rooms are very nice and the bed very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and every time we passed someone, we were greeted by them. The only negative thing I would say is that the elevator quit working later on and we had to take the stairs. It was working again the next morning. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 41tammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCharlotte, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charlotte, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest. My team and I would like to express our sincere appreciation to you for taking time out of your busy day to offer us feedback regarding your recent stay. IT was our pleasure to have you lodge with us and we look forward to having you come back " Home to the Holiday Inn Express in Charlotte, Mi" next time you are in town. Make it a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I have to agree with a previous review that people who work here just don't care. The last few years I have stayed here a number of times and was very satisfied. My last stay here was a great disappointment. Access doors not working, hot tub not working and I get uncaring comments from staff. I overheard housekeeping tell another she "hated early check ins". Somestimes I like to check in early if there is an available room. As soon as she had seen me after her coment she did say Hi as if to make up for what she was hoping I hadn't overheard. In the past I wouldn't have hesitated to make a reservation here, but I will be checking other options next time. I come to this area a lot on business.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weary_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCharlotte, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charlotte, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to express my sincere apologies to you for the inconveniences you experienced during your most recent stay with us here in Charlotte, Mi.
Your feed back helps us to identify in what areas we need to pay attention to. in order to better serve our guest.
I am also happy to inform you that my hotel will be under going a major upgrade in the next few months, making this hotel shine like it did many years ago. The new owner and I have delegated the funds needed to enhance this property making it better than before.
Currently we have installed Direct Tv with an enhanced channel line up including 5 HBO channels and much much more.
Once the hotel's renovations are complete. I would like to ask you to come back and allow my team and I to " wow" you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We stay at this hotel every year when we visit family in area. It is pretty clean, Internet speed is decent and free breakfast is pretty standard hotel fare. While staying here, request end room, they are quite spacious, if a king bed and pull out sofa while fit your needs.

Feel it is a bit overpriced for area you are in.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwardNsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Charlotte
50 reviews
14.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 25 in Lansing
419 reviews
15.3 mi away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#4 of 25 in Lansing
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dimondale
15.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lansing West
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lansing West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charlotte

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charlotte
Address: 500 Meijer Dr, Charlotte, MI 48813-8377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Eaton County > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charlotte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlotte, conveniently located off Interstate 69 at exit 60, next to the Meijer Store and only minutes away from Spartan Motor Chassis, Owens Illinois, Titan Plastics, Meridian Magnesium, and the Eaton County Fairgrounds. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is only fifteen minutes from Aim High and the Summit Sports Center, General Motors Delta Plant and Ryder Truck. Twenty-five miles from Michigan State University, and the State Capital in downtown Lansing. We feature free High Speed Wireless Internet, the Simply Smart free Deluxe Continental Breakfast, Business Center, Swimming Pool, Spa, Fitness Center, and Guest Laundry. Our Meeting Room will seat up to forty people, making us perfect for business meetings and training seminars as well as family parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
Holiday Inn Charlotte
Charlotte Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing