We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This hotel is much better than I expected. Even though the other reviews were positive, I still expected it to be a bit worn down since the prices are so affordable for the area. I'm glad to say that everything I saw, our room and the public areas were clean and in good repair. There really wasn't anything that I saw that needed to be fixed or replaced. Breakfast was included and it was your typical continental breakfast that also included hard-boiled eggs and waffles.
Renee and Colleen, the manager were very pleasant and helpful as well.
If you don't need to be within walking distance of town, this is a great option.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    275
    155
    44
    20
See reviews for
301
303
27
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
naples fl
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

One night here and it served it's purpose. Nothing special, very basic. Looks like a converted Sleep Inn. Basic room, good breakfast, and nice front desk people. Reasonable rates for a high priced town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webbergail
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2010

I booked a room at the Charlevoix Inn and Suites because of their low rates and positive reviews. Still, I expected a low-end budget hotel. I was very pleased from the second I walked in the door. The lobby was clean and well-maintained.The person at the desk could have been a little more welcoming, but she was perfectly polite and efficient. The hallways were also very clean and the hotel obviously is well-taken care of.

The room was a "designated pet room" (we had our cat with us), but you couldn't tell the difference. The room was clean, didn't smell bad. The room was a little small, but it was decorated in such a way that you didn't really notice.

Bottom Line: If you are looking for an inexpensive, but clean place to stay, and don't need a lot of frills, the Charlevoix Inn and Suites is just the place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webbergail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

stayed one night and had a small pet with us. very reasonable pet add on rate.Clean , comfortable room close to exit(for pet).WOULD DEFINITELY STAY ANOTHER TIME!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msr5331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lansing
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We stayed from Fri-Tues. Saturday night was real ugly. Wedding "guests" on our floor made continuous racket until 4:30am when the night manager finally got them quieted down, after several warnings.
Don't go here on a Sat. night if you expect to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ducky_dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2009

I just checked out of this hotel. It was really nice. It was very clean. It was cute. The lobby area was nice. Our room was spacious with plenty of outlet plugs next to the bed for our laptops. The shower was surprisingly big. It looks like a typical cublical shower when you're in the bathroom, but it actually has a little 2 foot bump out you can't see from the outside of the shower. That meant there was actually space to move away from the water spray to condition my hair and etc. It was great surprise! They had a coffee maker (and coffee), iron, shampoo, conditioner, soap, and a make-up removing toilette (big fan of!). It was a good hotel for the money. It wasn't anything spectacular, but it was really nice. Really clean!

When we first arrived there was a small mix-up where they had us booked for a single queen when we had booked a 2-bed room BUT they cleared that up within 30 seconds and got us in the right room. I was pleasantly surprised to see them handle it so efficiently and effectively especially on memorial weekend. There was no problem. The front desk people were very friendly and smiling everytime I can in the lobby. It was a nice stay. I would definately come here again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malissophobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, MI
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2009

I've stayed here many times in the past but in the last two years, since the new management, it has been slowly going down hill. I don't know how much further down they can go from here... Run, don't just walk away from this one!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
13.4 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
451 reviews
1.0 mi away
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
1.0 mi away
Pointes North Inn
Pointes North Inn
#4 of 9 in Charlevoix
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
1.0 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#5 of 9 in Charlevoix
114 reviews
16.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlevoix Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlevoix Inn & Suites

Property: Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Address: 800 Petoskey Ave, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1197 (Formerly Sleep Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Charlevoix Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With gorgeous views of Lake Charlevoix and an adjacent setting to Charlevoix Golf Club, the Charlevoix Inn & Suites' smoke-free facilities make your stay just right for your time in Charlevoix the Beautiful. Amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, complimentary wireless Internet access, indoor pool and hot tub, and a 24-hour Front Desk team. All rooms feature new pillow-top beds and pillows, 39" LED TV's, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, and complimentary bath amenities. Many rooms feature full views of Lake Charlevoix. Other rooms include views of Charlevoix Golf Club. Escape to Charlevoix and only stay at the best today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Charlevoix Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlevoix Hotel Charlevoix
Charlevoix Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing