We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent but not a hotel”
Review of Inn at Grey Gables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Grey Gables
Ranked #5 of 9 Charlevoix B&B and Inns
birmingham mi
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pretty decent but not a hotel”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

If you are a bed and breakfast person my guess this is for you. I'm a hotel person. I like the standardized stuff. This was homey and pleasant but it is like staying in someone house. The furniture was older but antique just older. There is a tv but it was a nine inch one on a dresser. Two people cold not watch at once. There was a plug shortage. My room had only 4 plugs. Between the tv and room ac and two lamps, unless I used the kitchen, there as no place to charge a phone or laptop. It's kitschy is the best word. Nowhere to sit besides the bed rocking chair did not feel solid.

Three stars because it delivered what it advertised. Nothing amazing but solid. I did not eat breakfast so could not comment

Bed was soft, towels were very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    15
    9
    5
    11
See reviews for
12
59
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our recent stay at Grey Gables was delightful. The Inn is beautifully situated among Charlevoix's historic homes and is within easy walking distance of the main street, the harbor and the beach on Lake Michigan (salt-free; no sharks!). Debbie and Doreen, the operators, fix a different menu for breakfast everyday. My 86 year old mother and I shared the Abigail room, which was very cozy and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJaneT368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We visited the Inn at Grey Gables in July and had a fabulous time. First of all, Charlevoix is a hidden gem in Michigan---simply marvelous! The Inn itself had a very welcoming, soothing feel to it. There was always relaxing music playing a you entered the living room from the wrap-around porch. We stayed in the Oak Room, which was on the upper level and felt very quiet and private. The rooms were stocked with interesting literature as well as periodicals and brochures about the local area. The bed linens were crisp and clean and the bath linens were plush. There was plenty of room in both the bedroom and the bathroom (w/shower stall; located in the hall). Each room and bathroom had individual locks for added safety. The hot breakfast served each morning was creative and delicious complete with choice of juice, coffee, and hot tea. Additionally, the Inn Keepers were willing accomodate any dietary needs/restrictions of the guests. Wine and cheese in the late afternoon was a great way to interact with other guests as well as the Inn Keepers. We used this time to get ideas for things to do and/or where to go for dinner. Each night was capped with turndown service and homemade cookies. Delicious! The Inn Keepers (Dorene and Deb) were super friendly and accomodating. They even took pictures of us one evening when we had dressed up before dinner. Talk about personal service!!!

We plan to return to Charlevoix and when we do we will check into The Inn at Grey Gables for our next stay.

Room Tip: Oak and Jonathon seem to the the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Deb and Dorene have put forth great effort to make the B&B experience at the Grey Gables Inn perfect and memorable. Clean, interestingly appointed rooms, great food, charming amenities... the breakfasts are creative and tasty, and the wine and cheese in the afternoon most welcomed. I willl return to the Grey Gables next time that I visit Charlevoix.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandville, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Comfy bed, wonderful shower, great linens, delicious food, wine & cheese in the afternoon, gracious hosts, close to downtown and next door to Grey Gables Restaurant. What more could one ask for? Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jonathan Deluxe King Suite on the first floor off the living room, near the front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We booked almost the entire Inn or our wedding in August this year. It was hard to know exactly what your getting when you have to book everything based on online sites. The site did a good job at capturing the beautiful atmosphere of the Inn. We were greated with the friendliest welcome and made to feel right at home from the start. The Innkeeper served us wine and cheese while we were all getting ready for the big day. They even went to the store and bought us fruit and veggies!! They hand made a meat platter for us since the store didn't have any pre-made. They really go the extra mile here. And Breakfast is amazing!!

We also booked the MacDougall house for the night and were disappointed at the difference in friendliness and service we received there. Grey Gables is definently the BnB to stay when in Charlevoix!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatStein22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We had a particular problem which we were not sure how to solve but Sandy could not have been been more helpful in finding a solution. She went above and beyond the call of duty and we were very grateful. It is this level of interest and care in her guests which sets this establishment apart from others. Although the Inn is in a quiet, residential street among other beautiful houses there is a reasonable restaurant next door (not noisy) and just down the road wasa fish shop with the best smoked fish I've ever tasted. Charlevois is a lovely little town to explore with ferry access to Beaver Island which is also worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmjaySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
0.9 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
766 reviews
0.5 mi away
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#5 of 9 in Charlevoix
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pointes North Inn
Pointes North Inn
#4 of 9 in Charlevoix
85 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
452 reviews
15.1 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Grey Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Grey Gables

Property: Inn at Grey Gables
Address: 306 Belvedere Ave, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1413
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Grey Gables 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Grey Gables is a refurbished 1887 Bed and Breakfast located within easy walking distance of downtown Charlevoix. We have seven beautifully decorated rooms with King or Queen beds, private baths, plush towels, and luxurious amenities. Each morning enjoy a full hot breakfast made with fresh ingredients and a gourmet twist. We offer wine and cheese platters in the evening, and turndown service with homemade cookies before bedtime. Also available is free wireless internet, a guest refreshment center, and 1 pet-friendly room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at Grey Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing