We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good!”
Review of Scovie's Gourmet

Scovie's Gourmet
Ranked #6 of 53 Restaurants in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The restaurant has beer and wine and has expanded dramatically. The food is just as good as always as is the service. We had the oriental chicken salad, the soup of the day, a hamburger- relish and chips always with a big dill pickle. The prices are very reasonable and if you are lucky you can sit near a window and see the harbor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    62
    10
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Variety”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I had the squash soup which was fantastic and a sandwich. They had a large variety of salads, wraps, soups, and sandwiches unlike those offered at other restaurants. They were fresh and full of flavor. The service was also great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I have made visiting Scovie's in Charlevoix a tradition. I always make a point to have lunch here when traveling through the area.They always have a nice selection of homemade soups and well prepared sandwiches at a reasonable price. On my recent visit it was nice to see they have expanded while still maintaining the rustic small town appeal. They added a small bar with additional seating. The location is also great with a nice view of the Round Lake waterfront area of Lake Charlevoix. Although I have never had an opportunity to try the dinner menu; I can highly recommend lunch.
On this visit I enjoyed a rich Cream Of Asparagus soup (very good) with a well prepared Panini with Roast Beef, Bacon, cheddar and horseradish sauce. The service was attentive and professional. I will definitely try the dinner menu next time I am in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Large portions, good food.”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stopped here on our way further up north for dinner, and for lunch on the way back! The portions were plenty big and the food was above average. The prices were reasonable. The views are limited, but the drawbridge is right there - which was neat for the little one in our party. The staff seemed like it might be new-ish. Both servers were fine, but maybe it was a little hectic in there? The second time, the chef/cook (manager?) walked through the restaurant and called the entire wait staff to the back for a meeting. Just found it awkward, but not necessarily bad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NCfamily77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wide Variety Menu”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We went as a group of Red Haters. Everything was delicious. The service was excellent. They had even decorated for our visit. The drinks were very good. I will go there many times this summer, fall, and winter.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scovie's Gourmet also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Scovie's Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing