We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large portions, good food.”
Review of Scovie's Gourmet

Scovie's Gourmet
Ranked #7 of 52 Restaurants in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Large portions, good food.”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stopped here on our way further up north for dinner, and for lunch on the way back! The portions were plenty big and the food was above average. The prices were reasonable. The views are limited, but the drawbridge is right there - which was neat for the little one in our party. The staff seemed like it might be new-ish. Both servers were fine, but maybe it was a little hectic in there? The second time, the chef/cook (manager?) walked through the restaurant and called the entire wait staff to the back for a meeting. Just found it awkward, but not necessarily bad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NCfamily77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    58
    10
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wide Variety Menu”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went as a group of Red Haters. Everything was delicious. The service was excellent. They had even decorated for our visit. The drinks were very good. I will go there many times this summer, fall, and winter.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bland....disappointing”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately, really disappointed. Went to Scovies based on previous reviews. Fun atmosphere, good service, good menu selection. Once the good came, I felt like we were at an old folks home. The soup (minestrone) was greasy and lacking any flavor. The wraps ( Greek and southwest) were great looking but the chicken tasted like it had been floating in water and had lost all flavor, the dressing was minimal and just was bland! Even if I had ordered MorE on the side it still would have been lack luster and boring. I couldn't finish my meal. Maybe it was an off day, but I wasn't impressed and won't go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sdt35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, MI 49720
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Scovie's Gourmet Restaurant”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Have had lunch at Scovie's twice recently. Food was excellent, service good, friendly atmosphere. Their lobster bisque soup (available on Fridays) is excellent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jiledahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level Contributor
161 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Eat In/Take Home”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

A wonderful gem. The food is all delicious, particularly their lunch menu. And, you can take food home, too. They've expanded but still can be very busy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wally k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scovie's Gourmet also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Scovie's Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing