We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No surprises!”

Stafford's Weathervane Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $48
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Fort Worth, TX
Level 6 Contributor
504 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“No surprises!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great restaurant, great view, excellent service...just a bit pricey for what it offers, but no complaints otherwise! Go and plan to wait to have a waterside table...it's worth it, watching the boats come in and out the channel and the drawbridge going up.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    165
    60
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Flint, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent When Open”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My sister and I were recently staying at the Weathervane Inn and the people at the front desk recommended going here for dinner.

As it is the off season, the restaurant was not particularly busy and we were seated right away.at a table overlooking the shoreline. The restaurant is cozy and welcoming. Although my sister and I were each ordering a meal, we told our server we would be sharing our entrees so we could each try a wider variety of foods. When our food was brought to the table, it was already divided - something we both greatly appreciated.

The service was perfect - not intrusive but attentive. The food was amazing - the John Cross whitefish appetizer plate (for two) was delicious, the Oysters Rockefeller was fantastic, and the Blu Cheese dressing for the salad was great. Even better was dessert - we ordered chocolate chip cheesecake which was very good, but the orange cake was even better.

I highly recommend the Weathervane Restaurant - but if you are intending to dine here, especially during the off season, please remember to check their hours. Given their close proximity to the area hotels I was expecting them to stay open later on Saturday evening but were closed before we arrived. What a shame, I was SO looking forward to more orange cake!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kincora1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistique, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, staff, and view”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

From our next to the window table, we could see the channel, the bridge, Lake Michigan, and Lake Charlevoix. The staff was friendly and attentive but not intrusive or so much to make us feel rushed. The food was delicious (I had the salmon) and the prices reasonable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank imahaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“St Patrick's Celebration”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Every St Patrick's Day the Weathervane has a great celebration with delicious food. They decorate the whole restaurant. For a very reasonable price we are treated to lamb stew, boiled potatoes, cabbage, rolls, an eighty-five pound corned beef which has been roasted slowly for 24 hours, Irish soda bread, and a dessert. We can also return for more however many times we desire. It is a very festive atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great view, Great Service, Excellant food.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a Family Gathering here. Jennifer the Hostess gave us a History of the Restaurant and the owners. To see the Fireplace with the Meteor built in is a must. The nice thing for all of us that we met on a very snowy day and there were very few eating out on this day. In the Summertime it is very busy. Watching the Draw Bridge go up and down is always fun.

There is lots of great shopping in Charlevioux.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stafford's Weathervane Restaurant also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Stafford's Weathervane Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing