We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent When Open” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stafford's Weathervane Restaurant

Stafford's Weathervane Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $48
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent When Open”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My sister and I were recently staying at the Weathervane Inn and the people at the front desk recommended going here for dinner.

As it is the off season, the restaurant was not particularly busy and we were seated right away.at a table overlooking the shoreline. The restaurant is cozy and welcoming. Although my sister and I were each ordering a meal, we told our server we would be sharing our entrees so we could each try a wider variety of foods. When our food was brought to the table, it was already divided - something we both greatly appreciated.

The service was perfect - not intrusive but attentive. The food was amazing - the John Cross whitefish appetizer plate (for two) was delicious, the Oysters Rockefeller was fantastic, and the Blu Cheese dressing for the salad was great. Even better was dessert - we ordered chocolate chip cheesecake which was very good, but the orange cake was even better.

I highly recommend the Weathervane Restaurant - but if you are intending to dine here, especially during the off season, please remember to check their hours. Given their close proximity to the area hotels I was expecting them to stay open later on Saturday evening but were closed before we arrived. What a shame, I was SO looking forward to more orange cake!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kincora1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    144
    55
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manistique, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, staff, and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

From our next to the window table, we could see the channel, the bridge, Lake Michigan, and Lake Charlevoix. The staff was friendly and attentive but not intrusive or so much to make us feel rushed. The food was delicious (I had the salmon) and the prices reasonable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank imahaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“St Patrick's Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Every St Patrick's Day the Weathervane has a great celebration with delicious food. They decorate the whole restaurant. For a very reasonable price we are treated to lamb stew, boiled potatoes, cabbage, rolls, an eighty-five pound corned beef which has been roasted slowly for 24 hours, Irish soda bread, and a dessert. We can also return for more however many times we desire. It is a very festive atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great view, Great Service, Excellant food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a Family Gathering here. Jennifer the Hostess gave us a History of the Restaurant and the owners. To see the Fireplace with the Meteor built in is a must. The nice thing for all of us that we met on a very snowy day and there were very few eating out on this day. In the Summertime it is very busy. Watching the Draw Bridge go up and down is always fun.

There is lots of great shopping in Charlevioux.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A long-time favorite and regional treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Of all the Stafford family of restaurants, the Weathervane stands out. It's housed in a former mill perched above the Pine River, which is forms a canal between Round Lake and Lake Michigan. The long side windows allow terrific views of boats coming in and out of the lakes, gorgeous sunsets, and the passersby along the Charlevoix streets. Excellent regional fare that features whitefish from the nearby waters, Michigan cherries (don't miss the cold cherry soup appetizer, rich with cream and laced with kirsch!) and local vegetables. A comfortable spot with courteous service and a memorable menu. Don't miss the Weathervane if you're in northern Michigan - it's worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stafford's Weathervane Restaurant also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Stafford's Weathervane Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing