We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Truck was Just OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pigs Eatin' Ribs

Pigs Eatin' Ribs
Ranked #11 of 52 Restaurants in Charlevoix
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food Truck was Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Pigs Eatin' Ribs has one of the six food truck's parked in Traverse City on Front and Wellington. I love brisket and with a name like "Pigs Eatin' Ribs" was expecting a moist, flavor filled sandwich. The brisket was OK, not real tender and was overwhelmed by to much of a bun that was not tasty. The service was great!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skiqueen48009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlevoix, Michigan
2 reviews
“Holy yes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

This food is amazing. Seriously such a gem up here. GREAT BBQ and gourmet food done RIGHT. I couldn't believe the brisket sandwich I got her. Also tasted samples at a wedding expo and they were great!! Hoping to have these guys for our catering. Please stop and try this place out, you will find it absolutely delightful!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamesmusic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This Piggy Was Not Impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I went here with high hopes, but left feeling let down. I had the pulled pork tacos. My friend had the pulled pork sandwich. We ordered beans, slaw, & mac on the side. All the food was cold to luke warm. Mac n cheese was like velveeta with shells. Slaw was vinegar based and not creamy. Beans were the best out of the bunch, but rate average to good. There were sweet pickles on top of my tacos-not my thing. Flour tortillas were cold like they were pulled right out of the fridge. My friend's pulled pork sandwich was better, but rated it average. They do have root beer on draft and Moomers ice cream. I left feeling like I had wasted my calories. They seemed to be more focused on a catering job in the kitchen than the quality of food for their walk up customers. Pork was crunchy like they cooked it too fast. You can't rush good BBQ.

Helpful?
Thank Wife2Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't drive right by and miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Only found this place because I was looking for it.So glad I did. Walk up window to order, some outside tables, about it. Ordered a full slab with two sides. Good price. Homemade sides and the ribs in the top three best I have had. If you love ribs, don't miss this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmmrn747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
168 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent pulled pork and brisket sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

A small building with walk-up service and picnic tables. Everything we had was excellent - the sandwiches, the homemade potato chips (seasoned with salt only), the pickles and the ginger ale and draft root beer. The root beer was rich and creamy, reminiscent of A&W when it was still an independent chain. The prices were reasonable - the sandwiches were a good value at $7, which included the chips and pickles. We will definitely return if in the Charlevoix area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pigs Eatin' Ribs also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Pigs Eatin' Ribs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing