We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for corned beef hash, eggs and toast!”

Flap Jack Family Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 52 Restaurants in Charlevoix
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
312 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great place for corned beef hash, eggs and toast!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

it is inexpensive and consistently has good service. The decor is not great but for a quick bite, who cares.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
188 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pass”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had wanted a breakfast buffet and was told that Flap Jacks had one. It was a Sunday morning and we figured it would be busy. Upon arrival we went and looked at the buffet and found it to be a big mess. Food spilled all over and most of it was empty and old looking. It was 10am and I would have thought the food would be re-filled with all the church crowd coming in. The restaurant itself was dirty. The staff was okay. Not overly attentive. The kitchen was super loud and I think they had a drum circle going on with all the pots and pans banging around. The food was just okay. Nothing special and was pricey. Paying $10 for a breakfast I would have though it would have been better.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Clark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Mi.
Level Contributor
169 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Overpriced and just average ”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Haven't been in for a few years due to bad food but I decided to try them again. Breakfast was average at best and really expensive for what it was. I have no problem with paying high prices for high quality but that's not the case here. Won't return again

Helpful?
3 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredibly tasty breakfast”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife does not like pancakes. So I was a little surprised that she was willing to come to a place with a name like this. But we were very glad we did. The interior was nondescript, but the staff were friendly and reasonably efficient. I ordered the hash brown omelet (!), and my wife ordered the veggie omelet. I was not expecting much; the mixture of hash browns with eggs etc. doesn't sound very good. But it was a special, so I thought I'd try it. I was delighted by the way the hash browns came out. They were on top, golden, not greasy, and added wonderful flavor to the omelet. Maybe it was the onions that were mixed in. Whatever it was they did, it worked. My wife's omelet was incredibly tasty. I've had many veggie omelets, but this one has to be the best. Again, maybe it was the onions, or the tomatoes. We both tasted one another's food, and agreed they were excellent. We wished we had gone here for dinner the night before instead of a very expensive mediocre place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local place!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stopped for lunch in our way thru town! Food was fresh and homemade. Our kids had the chocolate chip pancakes, delicious!! I had the Rachel, turkey club made with fresh turkey and homemade slaw and banana cream pie for dessert! I would definitely stop in again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flap Jack Family Restaurant also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Flap Jack Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing