We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best dining experiences in Northern Michigan”
Review of Cafe Esperance

Cafe Esperance
Ranked #18 of 53 Restaurants in Charlevoix
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“One of the best dining experiences in Northern Michigan”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We have spent part or all of our thirty-some-odd summers in Harbor Springs, and for whatever reason never had (or took) the opportunity to dine at Esperance. We are very grateful to summer neighbors of ours who took us to Esperance a few nights ago. From the moment we walked in and were warmly greater by the owner, Pram, and expertly served by one of his sons, and then finished a most delicious meal prepared by Pram's wife, Suzanne, we were more than impressed. This is first-rate food (French inspired), extremely fresh (much of it locally grown, raised, or fished), and presented beautifully in an understated yet elegant way. Their wine cellar is on par with the food, and has something terrific by the glass or for the most specific of oenophiles. Do not miss this opportunity. Esperance is on the top of our list and we highly recommend the experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Dining at its finest!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Suzanne Acharya is a master whose meals are stunning in presentation and taste and Pram Acharya makes everyone feel welcome and works with you to select wine to make meals perfection! This is a lovely place to take someone very special and to enjoy fresh and amazing food. Everyone is friendly and professional. I cannot say enough good about Esperance for dining (and purchasing wine and other wonderful foods). You can also stop in for a glass of wine or a drink, and the garden outside is so beautiful!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Excellent dinner yet again at cafe esperance”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We attended a wine tasting dinner at Esperance recently and once again the food and wine were exceptional. Suzanne (chef owner) always has an innovative menu and the food is awesome. Nothing is ever second best. The wait staff are friendly and professional. As far as the wine - well Esperance is also a wine shop and Pram (owner) is the ultimate wine guide. When we are in the area Esperance is always on our must go to list. I would highly recommend Esperance to anyone who enjoys great food and wine.

K M Clarkston MI

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing food paired with incredible wine list and stellar service”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Simply devine! This lovely, small family run restaurant packs 5 star dining into a perfect "summer by the lake" charm of Charlevoix. Pram and his wife (whose the head chef) provide 1st class service and beautifully presented food with perfect balance of flavors. Their excellent food is only matched by an incredible wine selection and extensive knowledge to match. I'd make this my top recommendation to anyone visiting the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CRG-SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great culinary experience”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I returned to Northern Michigan for a week vacation. We hadn't been there in about 15 years. We ate our dinners out every night, and this was the most enjoyable. The owner and his son were wonderful hosts, and very attentive. The decor was beautiful, and food prepared beautifully with edible flowers and unusual accompaniments. The menu was somewhat limited, (changes weekly), but provided a wide enough variety of choices. Although expensive, was worth it. We will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julieyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Esperance also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Cafe Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing