We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
51
21
13
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
21
13
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen loft upstairs reserved rooms small pool king bed lake michigan room was large within walking distance units condo suite downtown tub weathervane stove
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 94 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2018

Matt and Ruby were very helpful with sight-seeing and gave a great feel for the area.
Great location, room size, service.
Air conditioning in bedroom woefully inadequate.
Small bathroom, very small toilet stall, small shower.
Please remove the hot tub for more room.
Electric needs major upgrade. Breaker blows with hair dryer and AC on same circuit.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDDDEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Loved room 205! It has been recently renovated with a modern, albeit a bit small, kitchen. But, it has all the necessities for cooking meals. The loft upstairs is very quiet; the main bedroom is a tad noisy when people come/go in the hallway. The location was superb--downtown Charlevoix is just outside and Lake Michigan is right behind the inn. Also, the manager, Matthew, actually bought us some gluten-free bread for the daily continental breakfast! The reason I didn't give a rating of 5 is that it's a bit overpriced since there is no water view. (Oh, and if you're into swimming, the small pool will disappoint.)

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kathyesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Pointes North Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Dear kathyesl,

Thank you for the review. Suite 205 is an amazing room, the owners have remodeled the beginning part of last year and it has been a hit ever since!

I hope what we offer in customer service makes up for the lack of view. I am very happy that you enjoyed the bread.

Thank you for making Pointes North Inn your Northern Michigan escape and I hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

We stayed at Room 105 and had no complaints. The staff was very competent and friendly. But don't think this is some luxury condo. It is basically a one bedroom hotel room with a tiny, tiny kitchenette with few utensils. The fridge was particularly small. The location was great for easy walking access to downtown, but that also means it's right next to a busy street. The screened in patio is nice, but about 30 feet from cars and trucks going by. This is not a relaxing place to stay, but that is caused by the near downtown location. The room was quiet for sleeping at night. The hotel design is weird because all of the room air conditioners vent into the enclosed hallway right outside your room. The made the hallway oppressively warm. And you didn't want to open the patio door because of the car noise on the street. So assume you will use AC the whole time, even with perfect evening weather-wise. Nothing wrong with the place at all-- just accept it for what it is. Not great and not bad.

Room Tip: as to noise level-- it was loud during the day due to traffic; but noise was not an issue at night. We slept well.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlrogers61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Pointes North Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Dear jlrogers61,

Thank you for your feedback, it's always appreciated!

Yes the kitchenette can feel a bit on the smaller side, but with all the wonderful restaurants that downtown Charlevoix has to offer a smaller size fridge is perfect for some to-go containers. The location, albeit just off Bridge St., is about as close to the downtown area that you can get.

Thanks again for choosing Pointes North Inn as your Northern Michigan escape!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2018

This was listed as having a full kitchen. It had a small refrigerator, a two burner stove and a countertop convection oven, no microwave or dishwasher. The three pans it had did not have lids and there were no dishes to use in the convection oven. It was marginally clean - lots of dust behind the bed and not it very good repair. The electric baseboard heaters were beat up and one didn't even have a cover. It was behind the bed and did have a lot of dust. The baseboard heater in the kitchen had a hole cut in the cabinet so the heater could go through it. There was only one smoke detector in the condo - in the hall. It had very few outlets and each one of those had more than two things plugged into it. The screen to the patio was in need of repair.

Room Tip: Location is good, but all the rooms seem to face the main road of Charlevoix and are noisy during the day. We were in room 212.
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Pointes North Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

Dear nobe,

I am sorry that the suite fell below Pointes North standards! In contrast to some of the other suites, this does have a full kitchen. With all the rooms individually owned, how they decorate or remodel their room is entirely up to them, even baseboard heaters blending into cabinets. I will pass on your comments to the owner and see what we can do about remediating the heater covers.

Thank you for your input, as it makes us aware of the areas that need improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2018 via mobile

Was impressed with how clean it was and how homey it felt. We didn't feel like we were staying at a hotel at all but more of an apartment. Very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Our only disappointment was that the pool closed w the lobby at 5pm so we were unable to go swimming.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Pointes North Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

Thank you for the review Heather T!

I'm glad that we had everything you were looking for! We pride ourselves on top notch cleanliness.

Yes, with the off season as slow as it is, we can not stay open later to accomodate access to the swimming pool.

Thank you for making Pointes North Inn your Northern Michigan escape and we look forward to having you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews