We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
51
20
13
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
20
13
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen loft upstairs reserved rooms small pool king bed lake michigan room was large within walking distance units condo suite downtown tub weathervane stove
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 93 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2018

We stayed at Room 105 and had no complaints. The staff was very competent and friendly. But don't think this is some luxury condo. It is basically a one bedroom hotel room with a tiny, tiny kitchenette with few utensils. The fridge was particularly small. The location was great for easy walking access to downtown, but that also means it's right next to a busy street. The screened in patio is nice, but about 30 feet from cars and trucks going by. This is not a relaxing place to stay, but that is caused by the near downtown location. The room was quiet for sleeping at night. The hotel design is weird because all of the room air conditioners vent into the enclosed hallway right outside your room. The made the hallway oppressively warm. And you didn't want to open the patio door because of the car noise on the street. So assume you will use AC the whole time, even with perfect evening weather-wise. Nothing wrong with the place at all-- just accept it for what it is. Not great and not bad.

Room Tip: as to noise level-- it was loud during the day due to traffic; but noise was not an issue at night. We slept well.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlrogers61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Pointes North Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Dear jlrogers61,

Thank you for your feedback, it's always appreciated!

Yes the kitchenette can feel a bit on the smaller side, but with all the wonderful restaurants that downtown Charlevoix has to offer a smaller size fridge is perfect for some to-go containers. The location, albeit just off Bridge St., is about as close to the downtown area that you can get.

Thanks again for choosing Pointes North Inn as your Northern Michigan escape!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2018

This was listed as having a full kitchen. It had a small refrigerator, a two burner stove and a countertop convection oven, no microwave or dishwasher. The three pans it had did not have lids and there were no dishes to use in the convection oven. It was marginally clean - lots of dust behind the bed and not it very good repair. The electric baseboard heaters were beat up and one didn't even have a cover. It was behind the bed and did have a lot of dust. The baseboard heater in the kitchen had a hole cut in the cabinet so the heater could go through it. There was only one smoke detector in the condo - in the hall. It had very few outlets and each one of those had more than two things plugged into it. The screen to the patio was in need of repair.

Room Tip: Location is good, but all the rooms seem to face the main road of Charlevoix and are noisy during the day. We were in room 212.
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Pointes North Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

Dear nobe,

I am sorry that the suite fell below Pointes North standards! In contrast to some of the other suites, this does have a full kitchen. With all the rooms individually owned, how they decorate or remodel their room is entirely up to them, even baseboard heaters blending into cabinets. I will pass on your comments to the owner and see what we can do about remediating the heater covers.

Thank you for your input, as it makes us aware of the areas that need improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2018 via mobile

Was impressed with how clean it was and how homey it felt. We didn't feel like we were staying at a hotel at all but more of an apartment. Very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Our only disappointment was that the pool closed w the lobby at 5pm so we were unable to go swimming.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Pointes North Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

Thank you for the review Heather T!

I'm glad that we had everything you were looking for! We pride ourselves on top notch cleanliness.

Yes, with the off season as slow as it is, we can not stay open later to accomodate access to the swimming pool.

Thank you for making Pointes North Inn your Northern Michigan escape and we look forward to having you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2018

We reserved 3 rooms for our family to stay while we visited our daughter in the hospital. All three rooms were large, comfortable, clean and just great. They all were suites. They each had a Jacuzzi hot tub in them. They had a small refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishes, shower besides the tub, king bed, double sized sleeper sofa, and tv in the bedroom and living area. Very nice. The front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. The only thing that would have made it more competitive would have been a free continental breakfast and lobby coffee.

Room Tip: All three of the rooms we stayed in were great!!
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizZ189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Pointes North Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

Dear LizZ189,

Thank you for the review.

I am glad that we could accomodate your family and what we have to offer in the suites made your stay "Amazing"!

As a note, in the off season when occupancy can be quite low, we do not offer the continental breakfast due to the amount of waste we have incurred in the past. But we always have the coffee on in the lobby.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

The rooms were very nice and clean. I loved the screened in porch. The pool was awesome, I wish I could've spent more time enjoying. The staff were very friendly, always available if I needed anything.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Pointes North Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Dear rickeggleston,
We hope you can return again soon! We appreciate that you took the time to give us a review. We love to hear feedback from our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews