We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter getaway!”
Review of Pointes North Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pointes North Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Dearborn Heights, MI
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“winter getaway!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at this condo through our exchange program. pleasantly surprised. Room was clean, nice kitchenette, king sized bed and gas fireplace. Nice patio, but due to winter didn't use, nice wall of windows to look out at the snow!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvisfan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    17
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
33
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was an excellent place to stay. My daughter and I planned a short trip (2 nights) to Charlevoix in the winter. We found this location to be perfect and it met our requirements. Although many of the shops are closed until spring, we were still able to visit some of our favorite spots. Our room was large, clean and very warmly furnished. This room had a mini-kitchen which was stocked with enough pots, pans and cooking utensils to make it possible to eat-in. Although we didn't take advantage of it, there was a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. There is also an inside pool. The only downside to the pool was that it was only available during office hours. Once the office was closed, you didn't have access to the pool. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
235 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We found this place on the Internet, but were not actually looking to go anywhere at the time. We are so glad we did! Our check-in was smooth. This is a two-story building, but it does have an elevator. We were in room 212 - the furthest room to the back of the building on the 2nd floor. It was very quiet and was right next door to the coin-operated laundry room (a plus). Our unit was very clean and very comfortable - separate bedroom, full kitchen with adjoining living room. It had a large bathroom with a jetted tub, separate toilet room & a shower stall. There were plenty of towels for our one week stay, however there were NO towel bars or anywhere to put them once they were wet (if you wanted to use them again). Our only complaints are the lack of towel bars and no direct light over the kitchen area. There is a very large light fixture in the center of the living area, but it does not light the kitchen very well. We loved the granite counters and the very large counter with stove top and four large bar stool height chairs. This was January, so we couldn't use the lovely balcony that looked toward downtown & the bridge, but it was still nice to be able to look out from the living room. It was right next to a busy street, but for us, that was no problem. The bedroom had a king-sized bed and a nice size closet. The only problem was that there was no "dresser" space - we had to keep all but our "hang-ups" in our suitcases. There also was a nice (especially in the winter) electric fireplace. The living room also had a nice flat-screen TV with DVD player, and the bedroom also had a flat screen TV on the wall. There also was an indoor/outdoor pool that we did not have a chance to use. We had a wonderful time and would definitely look forward to staying here again! Forgot to mention - the location is fabulous!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 123Freckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomfiled hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

After a fun filled getaway in Traverse City for New Years, my wife and I decided to travel north to Charleviox MI. We did not have to be back at work for a week and didn't want the trip to end. We stumbled upon Pointes North Inn after driving through the city. We also drove through Petosky and decided to stay at Pointes North Inn right by the Bay.

This is not a common hotel chain, far from it. Each room (condo) are privatley owned and have a flare unique to the specific owner. Almost a full kitchen with a large living area separate from the bedroom are perfect for a family or like us...two people that want to get away but still feel at home. The bathroom has a 4 jet- two person ;) tub and separte shower. The two bedroom units have two full baths with the jetted tub in the loft bedroom. The staff keeps the rooms immaculatley clean and are very small town friendly. A pleasure to be around but nonintrusive.

We plan on bringing the the kids back up during the summer as there is much more to do being surrounded by water and 3 public beaches.

Room Tip: The two bedroom units have more ammenities with the same square footage on the lower level. The lof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed over the Christmas holiday and the office staff was great about accommodating our holiday check in. Our kitchenette was a great convenience. Our biggest issue was with the ants that were in various locations throughout the room. Ants traps were in the kitchen so we were immediately aware that there had been a problem. They were most obvious on the white tile floor in the bathroom. When i spoke with the desk staff they were aware that there had been a problem and had even had the "bug guys" in the previous week. They were surprised that there was still an issue. As our visit continued the ants were found in our bed and our luggage. We even had one make it home with us. I again told the office staff when I checked out and was told that the owner would be notified. But as a customer I had expected more of a response. Quite disappointed. Ants in December and in my bed and luggage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent the week of Thanksgiving here. It was very quiet and nice for our family of 5. The unit was well equipped with a bedroom on the lower level with a king size bed (all three girls could fit). There was also a kitchenette with stove, dishwasher, microwave and full-size fridge. The downside of the kitchen for us was that all the dishes were out of reach of our three kids (including our 10 year old), so anytime they needed anything, we had to go get it for them. The living area and table completed the first floor. The upper level loft had another king size bed with a jetted tub, separate shower (kind of small) and separate toilet area. It was well cleaned and maintained. There was wireless internet, however, we had only two bars in our unit, and it was sometimes sporadic with phones and iPods. The Inn was located right near the draw bridge, and in the heart of town. We had such beautiful weather, we were able to enjoy walks through the shops and down to the water too. We are looking forward to coming back in the summer to enjoy the water. The pool was a little small, but it worked for the kids.Overall, this is a charming place with a friendly staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 208, so we had an open balcony and would be really nice in the summer time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familytravels8799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned after a weekend here and was delighted by the accommodations. This is perfect for the business traveller or those who enjoy ultimate privacy, but not aimed to suit the "full resort amenities" traveler. No on ssite restaurant exists but units have full kitchens and the facility is in the boutique/business/dining district. Privacy and serenity are emphasized in a property offering extremely spacious and well-appointed accommodations. Personnel is friendly and extremely knowledgable about the area's favorites for dining, sights, etc.

Room Tip: The 2 bed/2bath units are perfect for two couples or those traveling with teenagers as this offers t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocSparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
1.0 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
714 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
0.0 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#3 of 9 in Charlevoix
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
14.4 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
434 reviews
15.3 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointes North Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointes North Inn

Property: Pointes North Inn
Address: 101 Michigan Ave, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pointes North Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pointes North Inn condominium hotel suites are conveniently located in charming Downtown Charlevoix just north of the drawbridge and just steps away from shopping, restaurants and beaches. Whether your stay is for a night, a week or more, Pointes North Inn condominium suites will make it that much sweeter. Pointes North Inn offers: One bedroom condominium suite with private screened in patio porch. Two bedroom condominium suite with loft and private balcony Jacuzzi and sofa beds in every hotel room Kitchenette or full kitchen Fireplace and wide screen TV and VCR/DVD Indoor / Outdoor heated pool Daily & weekly condominium hotel suite rentals Complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Pointes North Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointes North Hotel Charlevoix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing