We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Long Weekend”
Review of Pointes North Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pointes North Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Came up to Charlevoix for a destination wedding with my wife and some friends of ours. We decided to make it a long weekend/ mini vacation. We had an absolute blast, we stayed in room 207, very clean, great rooms, and wonderful amenities. My favorite part about the room is the balcony on the street, great for hanging out and people watching. Also you could see the boats pass through the bridge and into the channel. Staff was great, only had one bad thing happen. We went swimming in the pool, I open my eyes under water ( I accept the gamble) they must have just shocked the pool...I had to go and get saline from the front desk to wash out my eyes. It was pretty bad, I accept the fact that it was probably my fault and say overall PNI is the best place in Charlevoix to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jbrooks0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 87 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

pointes north is the best hotel in charlevoix, they beat weathervane hands down. after a terrible stay at the weathervane we finnaly went over to pointes north inn and they were able to get us in asap we love this place when we walked in, it was like we were the first people to stay in the place

Room Tip: room 205 is the best or a room just like it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank floyd1974_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is in a perfect location. Close to restaurants, shops and walking distance to the beach. The room was clean and we enjoyed the screened in porch.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed there 2 nights for a wedding. The first night we had troubles with the breaker tripping. I ended up fixing that since maintenance could not. The screens on the sliding doors were both broken. It was not cleaned very well as we found many long black hairs on the floor and the table was full of crumbs. The bagels had a due date of 1 week earlier. I was told that the manager had them in the freezer. The bottoms were very hard and they had the nerve to still serve them the next day!

The best parts was the unit itself. Loved having the loft area. Great for a couple day stay. Although it is on a main road it is close to the beach. Charlevoix does not have that small town feeling anymore. There are no good places to eat, very expensive at that, and no quaint shops. Really disappointedwith the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GretchenMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We planned a winter sports getaway trip to northern Michigan, wanting to try the various ski resorts. Charlevoix was equidistant to Boyne, Nub's Nob and Boyne Highlands so this was the winning base camp. Pointes North was also pet-friendly so we could bring the dog child. While the condos are not the most memorable in design or execution, having a full kitchen and some room to spread out was invaluable. We did end up booking a two bedroom in order to have the kitchen -- the one bedrooms just had a very limited kitchenette. There was a jacuzzi tub in the upstairs loft bedroom and a private balcony off the living room. We did have some lighting problems in the unit but we were just renting, not buying it, so we just rolled. Unit also had cable and a DVD player which we took advantage of. The inn is very close to the beach, a bonus while taking the dog on his walks. All in all, Pointes North Inn is well located and gave us a comfortable place to land. If only they could have done something about the unseasonably warm weather....

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meercoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Charlevoix is quite expensive and finding reasonable lodging for a group can be challenging. I liked the concept of the condos instead of a motel and I most certainly liked the location. It was high color season and we got the last two, two bedroom units in the place. I think they must leave these to rent last because they are showing their age in wear and tear and decorating. They seem to have suffered a bit from moisture and there were rusty registers in both units. We did not use the tub in the loft and I need to mention that the showers are very, very small. Our unit looked out at the main street, but we weren't bothered by street noise at all. Our sliding balcony screen door was broken and off the track. We couldn't get out to the balcony The desk clerk tried to fix it. It would have been a nice night to have the door open, but alas, not to be. We also had quite a large TV, but it didn't work either. The clerk fussed with it for 20 minutes or so and gave up. He did arrange for a new TV that was brought up by the handy man the next day who also tried to fix the screen door with no success. The place was generally clean including the common areas. The breakfast area is quite small, but seemed to function well enough. The pool is small and I didn't see anyone using it. One thing the place does have is very nice, well lit off street parking. We had motorcycles and we felt secure parking them in the lot. All the staff we encountered were friendly. As I understand it, the units are privately owned except for some managed by the company and even these are for sale. If they are serious about selling them, they need to get them updated. The rate was reasonable enough, no argument there. There is a small kitchen area and the appliances are in pretty good shape, but a lot of the glassware and plates are missing. It was nice having a full size refrigerator. All in all, I would have to think hard about staying there again, but it's hard to beat the location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evansthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed in a one-bedroom and it was very nice. High ceilings, seperate living area and a small kitchen. Hubby used the jetted tub and seemed to enjoy it! The shower was small and I had to stand on my head to shave, but the shampoo made up for it, it smelled great.
Our room was on a busy road. You could hear the noise when you were in the living area, but not in the bedroom. The bed was okay, a bit squeaky.
We walked down to the pier and watched the sunset. We would stay here again. It did seem odd that there were no clocks in our room though.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love_those_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
1 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
824 reviews
0 mi away
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
14.4 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
824 reviews
12.3 mi away
Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection Hotels
19.3 mi away
Boyne Mountain Resort
Boyne Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Boyne Falls
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointes North Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointes North Inn

Address: 101 Michigan Ave, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Price Range: $115 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pointes North Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pointes North Inn, a Northern Michigan Escapes destination, consists of condominium hotel suites are conveniently located in charming Downtown Charlevoix just north of the drawbridge and just steps away from shopping, restaurants and beaches. Whether your stay is for a night, a week or more, Pointes North Inn condominium suites will make it that much sweeter. Pointes North Inn offers: One bedroom condominium suite with private screened in patio porch. Two bedroom condominium suite with loft and private balcony Jacuzzi and sofa beds in every hotel room Kitchenette or full kitchen Fireplace and wide screen TV and VCR/DVD Indoor / Outdoor heated pool Daily & weekly condominium hotel suite rentals Complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Pointes North Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointes North Hotel Charlevoix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing