We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent burritos and fish!”
Review of Villager Pub

Villager Pub
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent burritos and fish!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food is great here! Everytime we go there it is always busy. The service is usually pretty good. We have had one or two times where the service was not as good as it should be but they always make sure to fix any problems.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank gracie49721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    115
    41
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Fish and chips great!
Nice selection of Michigan beers!
Went back next day for fried chicken mashed potatoes And gravy was the best ever!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Radar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best Whitefish Ever”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great local pub, their Whitefish is truly the best I have had anywhere. You have two choices, fried or grilled, I always get fried. The batter is light and not over powering. It is not over salted and it tastes fresh. No doubt most of what we eat has been frozen, but they do such an excellent job, that it tastes like it was just hauled in......all year long. We've eaten here throughout the year and the fish is consistent. As a matter of fact this past summer when there was no whitefish available, you literally heard a sad sigh from everyone who walked in. Their coleslaw is terrific, my husband gets the fries and they are nice and crispy on the outside. The really good news is that whitefish is at the bottom of the list of Hg buildup, YEAH!!!! So eat away!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CinciVick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good food, good service!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This time of year, there are not many restaurants in Charlevoix that are not "through the roof" price-wise where you can also get a glass of wine. My husband & I both had the Villager burger & fries - very good! Although you can get wine, it is rather pricey for such a small glass ($6.00), and this is not a fancy restaurant! We're from downstate, so I guess we're not used to resort town pricing? Their fish smelled and looked very good, so may go back this week & give that a try. Our service was very good also.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 123Freckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“all the food is good great selection from hamburger to fish,nachos,baretios”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Deer fried white fish, perch ,hamburgers ,Nachos drinks. Wait staff right on top of it .you will wait out side in the summer

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Molto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villager Pub also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Villager Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing