We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See if you are visiting Charlevoix”
Review of Castle Farms

Castle Farms
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Open year round, Castle Farms is one of Northern Michigan's top historic attractions, as well as one of the Midwest's premier wedding venues. Visitors can stroll throughout the magnificent stone buildings dating back to 1918, and enjoy gorgeous gardens. A variety of museum quality collections featuring castles, antique toys, and royalty memorabilia from around the world are displayed throughout the buildings. The Castle's 1918 Museum showcases items from that time era, plus World War I memorabilia. Children delight in feeding the huge rainbow trout swimming in the Reflection Pond, playing a game of giant chess, or hide-and-seek with the fairies and gnomes dwelling in the Enchanted Forest. Our Self-Guided Tours offer Scavenger Hunt tours for children, too! Everyone loves The Castle's Garden Railroad; with more than 1/2 mile of track and 68 G-scale trains, it's one of the largest in the State. Listed on both the National and State Historic Registries, Castle Farms is a world-class historic property where old world charm and modern-day elegance enchant visitors of all ages.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed October 19, 2013

You'll need a couple of hours to cover the grounds and castle properties! This would be a fantastic location for a destination wedding! Something for everyone.....the garden trains will fascinate the kids. I think a summer or fall visit will allow you to enjoy the beautifully landscaped property the best!

Thank Franster48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent visit to Castle Farms. We’re delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the Castle. We agree that it’s a spectacular setting, whether you’re out on tour and strolling through the magnificent gardens, viewing the museum collections, and marveling at the majestic stone buildings which date back to 1918… or enjoying the splendor of a Castle wedding. We do hope you’ll consider returning in future. There’s always something new to see and do at Castle Farms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"self guided tour"
in 47 reviews
"gift shop"
in 21 reviews
"dairy farm"
in 11 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 10 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 8 reviews
"interesting history"
in 10 reviews
"the dragon"
in 6 reviews
"miniature train"
in 5 reviews
"model railroad"
in 4 reviews
"taking place"
in 4 reviews
"this place is amazing"
in 4 reviews
"chess game"
in 4 reviews
"tram ride"
in 4 reviews
"reflection pond"
in 4 reviews
"grand rapids"
in 4 reviews
"outdoor wedding"
in 3 reviews
"gorgeous venue"
in 3 reviews
Filter

220 - 224 of 299 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were invited to a family wedding being held at the Castle. I had never been there and was excited to see what it was all about. Everything was very nice. The food was awesome. The location of the reception was terrific. It could have been cold, uninviting with 30 foot ceilings and stone walls, but that was not the case at all. The wedding ceremony was outdoors in the courtyard. Rain was coming and the venue gave everyone very nice white umbrellas~ very nice touch! I would book an event here!

Thank airboss82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share how much you enjoyed your visit to the Castle during your family wedding. We love sharing in the excitement of Castle ‘first-timers’ when they experience the beauty of the magnificent stone buildings, the gardens and the overall ambiance. Castle Farms prides itself on providing world class service, and the courtesy umbrellas we distribute in case of rain (or intense sunshine) are just one of the ways we strive to ensure our guests’ comfort. Please give the newlyweds our best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

great food, beautiful atmosphere, lovely grounds. The wedding was in the courtyard at the Kings castle with the reception in the adjacent building. It was nice to be in an area away from the main building. We heard there were two weddings going on there but where we were we felt as though we were the only party in town. Very memorable evening. Service was great--bar and table.

1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing about your recent visit to the Castle. We’re delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable time at the wedding and reception. Castle Farms has separate venue areas, ensuring complete privacy for each wedding party and no interference at any event. Please give the happy couple our congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The ceremony was too short; the way they moved us from the service was horrible. We were directed to go downstairs and then come back up the stairs on the other end of the room -- when we could've just been directed through a curtain to the reception area. Bad planning on their part! I was not impressed.

Thank HookedOnTreasures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Romantic, exquisite, and elegant, Castle Farms is one of the premiere wedding venues in the State of Michigan. We were sorry to hear of your discomfort during the wedding you recently attended. While we understand your concerns, please know that all decisions made regarding weddings (including length of ceremony, liturgical music, plus entry and exit routes, etc.) ultimately remain the choice of the bridal couple themselves. We’ve very sorry that the decision to enter the reception rooms from a separate hallway caused any inconvenience on your part. Meanwhile, we do hope that you enjoyed the reception!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This place is amazing. If you want a great place to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature this is the place. The castle setting makes it even better it allows you to take a step back in time.

Thank Lwhite0372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We love hearing from our guests. We’re delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time during your recent tour. We hope you will come back and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Farms also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Castle Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing