We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing castle....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Farms

Castle Farms
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Open year round, Castle Farms is one of Northern Michigan's top historic attractions, as well as one of the Midwest's premier wedding venues. Visitors can stroll throughout the magnificent stone buildings dating back to 1918, and enjoy gorgeous gardens. A variety of museum quality collections featuring castles, antique toys, and royalty memorabilia from around the world are displayed throughout the buildings. The Castle's 1918 Museum showcases items from that time era, plus World War I memorabilia. Children delight in feeding the huge rainbow trout swimming in the Reflection Pond, playing a game of giant chess, or hide-and-seek with the fairies and gnomes dwelling in the Enchanted Forest. Our Self-Guided Tours offer Scavenger Hunt tours for children, too! Everyone loves The Castle's Garden Railroad; with more than 1/2 mile of track and 68 G-scale trains, it's one of the largest in the State. Listed on both the National and State Historic Registries, Castle Farms is a world-class historic property where old world charm and modern-day elegance enchant visitors of all ages.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An amazing castle....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This place is amazing. If you want a great place to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature this is the place. The castle setting makes it even better it allows you to take a step back in time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lwhite0372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We love hearing from our guests. We’re delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time during your recent tour. We hope you will come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    48
    25
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
FREEBURG
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a unique place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I took a bus tour to northern Michigan and one of our stops was Castle Farms. We enjoyed a wonderful 2 hour tour followed by a delightful catered lunch in an outdoor pavilion. All the bus participants loved both the tour and lunch and said it was one of the highlights of our bus tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CAROL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent visit to Castle Farms. While the Castle is open for self-guided tours, our historic guided tours (for groups of 10 or more) are also extremely popular. Our guests love being escorted through the beautiful stone buildings by fully trained tour guides who share stories and facts about the Castle’s history and four owners, plus detailed information about the restoration, the gardens, and our museum quality collections. We’re able to offer catered luncheons and/or dinners to tour groups of 20 or more. Our elegant outdoor Rose Pavilion is a recent addition; we’re so pleased you enjoyed your guided tour and dining al fresco a la Castle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loeb Farm Sears History Fun for Everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The model farm was built in 1918 in Charlevoix by Albert Loeb, acting President of Sears, Roebuck and Company. He displayed many of the farm items sold in Sears catalog. Today Linda Mueller lovingly owns and takes pride in restoring the castle. She can be seen walking the extraordinarily beautiful grounds! Make this a must on your tour of Charlevoix! Great for families1 The "train" park will entice your children! You won't be disappointed!!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susanne444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We always love hearing from visitors who’ve toured the Castle, and we’re delighted you found the Castle’s history to be as interesting as we do. Each of the Castle’s four owners has had a unique vision for the property. Our current owner, Linda Mueller, is very ‘hands-on’ and loves visiting with people touring the buildings, trains, and gardens. Her passion for the Castle manifests itself in her peaceful personality and open camaraderie with visitors and staff alike. A woman who values family and friends, she truly makes the Castle a magical place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Lovely outdoor wedding and the reception was very nice. The food, service, decorations were perfect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusieG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your Castle visit during the nuptial celebrations. We love our Castle brides and grooms, and feel honored to provide them with the perfect spot for their special day. Please give them our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
“Away From the Maddening Crowd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I could only take so many Fudge shops and T-shirts stores, but a visit to Castle Farms saved our vacation to Michigan. You have to experience the unbelievable resurrection of this stunning location. They didn’t take any short cuts re-establishing the site. The staff was extremely welcoming and friendly, that included those doing outdoor maintenance. I’m going to recommend it to everyone I know who is planning on vacationing in Michigan. Adults will enjoy the quiet.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We’re always delighted to hear from our Castle guests, and we’re thrilled that your recent visit to the Castle rescued your vacation! We strive to ensure the Castle is a peaceful setting, a place where guests can (quite literally) step back into time, allowing the noise and stress of the outside world to slip away as you bask in the simple peace and tranquility found here at Castle Farms. We look forward to welcoming you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Farms also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Castle Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing