We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loeb Farm Sears History Fun for Everyone!”
Review of Castle Farms

Castle Farms
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Open year round, Castle Farms is one of Northern Michigan's top historic attractions, as well as one of the Midwest's premier wedding venues. Visitors can stroll throughout the magnificent stone buildings dating back to 1918, and enjoy gorgeous gardens. A variety of museum quality collections featuring castles, antique toys, and royalty memorabilia from around the world are displayed throughout the buildings. The Castle's 1918 Museum showcases items from that time era, plus World War I memorabilia. Children delight in feeding the huge rainbow trout swimming in the Reflection Pond, playing a game of giant chess, or hide-and-seek with the fairies and gnomes dwelling in the Enchanted Forest. Our Self-Guided Tours offer Scavenger Hunt tours for children, too! Everyone loves The Castle's Garden Railroad; with more than 1/2 mile of track and 68 G-scale trains, it's one of the largest in the State. Listed on both the National and State Historic Registries, Castle Farms is a world-class historic property where old world charm and modern-day elegance enchant visitors of all ages.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loeb Farm Sears History Fun for Everyone!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The model farm was built in 1918 in Charlevoix by Albert Loeb, acting President of Sears, Roebuck and Company. He displayed many of the farm items sold in Sears catalog. Today Linda Mueller lovingly owns and takes pride in restoring the castle. She can be seen walking the extraordinarily beautiful grounds! Make this a must on your tour of Charlevoix! Great for families1 The "train" park will entice your children! You won't be disappointed!!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susanne444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We always love hearing from visitors who’ve toured the Castle, and we’re delighted you found the Castle’s history to be as interesting as we do. Each of the Castle’s four owners has had a unique vision for the property. Our current owner, Linda Mueller, is very ‘hands-on’ and loves visiting with people touring the buildings, trains, and gardens. Her passion for the Castle manifests itself in her peaceful personality and open camaraderie with visitors and staff alike. A woman who values family and friends, she truly makes the Castle a magical place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    50
    26
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wedding”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Lovely outdoor wedding and the reception was very nice. The food, service, decorations were perfect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusieG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your Castle visit during the nuptial celebrations. We love our Castle brides and grooms, and feel honored to provide them with the perfect spot for their special day. Please give them our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
“Away From the Maddening Crowd”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I could only take so many Fudge shops and T-shirts stores, but a visit to Castle Farms saved our vacation to Michigan. You have to experience the unbelievable resurrection of this stunning location. They didn’t take any short cuts re-establishing the site. The staff was extremely welcoming and friendly, that included those doing outdoor maintenance. I’m going to recommend it to everyone I know who is planning on vacationing in Michigan. Adults will enjoy the quiet.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We’re always delighted to hear from our Castle guests, and we’re thrilled that your recent visit to the Castle rescued your vacation! We strive to ensure the Castle is a peaceful setting, a place where guests can (quite literally) step back into time, allowing the noise and stress of the outside world to slip away as you bask in the simple peace and tranquility found here at Castle Farms. We look forward to welcoming you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otwell, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staff was pleasant and informative. We enjoyed the beautiful gardens and the leisurely self guided tour. Loved the architecture of this old castle and found the history very interesting. Seems like a great place for children to run around an explore as well. Be sure to take some quarters to feed the ducks. Most areas were wheelchair / stroller accessible but there are a few areas you can only reach by stairs but overall very accessible. There was a craft show going on when we were there so it was very busy but still enjoyable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We’re glad to hear you had a chance to visit the Castle and enjoyed your recent visit. We agree that the Castle grounds and gardens are showcased in glorious splendor, and the magnificent stone buildings (nearly 100 years old) evoke a feeling of majesty. The Castle is open year round for self-guided tours. We do hope you’ll consider returning again in future. There’s always something new to see and do at Castle Farms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Went for craft show and took self-guided tour. Expected more was not impressed. Not very much to see. Had model train track and maze.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dragon175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience while visiting Castle Farms. We hope you enjoyed the Craft Show, and we’re glad to hear you discovered the Castle’s Model Garden Railroad. We think it’s a spectacular sight, especially since it’s one of the largest (if not THE largest) in the State of Michigan. We hope you took time to tour the other amenities to be found while taking a self-guided tour: the 1918 Museum (with its World War I memorabilia, and 1918 Sears catalogue collection), the royal family displays, plus all the castle and antique toy collections showcased throughout the beautiful stone buildings. Plus, there’s the Reflection Pond, the Enchanted Forest, and our brand new garden, The Dragon’s Lair, featuring Norm the Dragon, weighing in at nearly 3 tons, with razor sharp teeth, a 10-foot wing span, and nearly 6,900 scales. We look forward to welcoming you in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Farms also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Castle Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing