We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find”
Review of Castle Farms

Castle Farms
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Open year round, Castle Farms is one of Northern Michigan's top historic attractions, as well as one of the Midwest's premier wedding venues. Visitors can stroll throughout the magnificent stone buildings dating back to 1918, and enjoy gorgeous gardens. A variety of museum quality collections featuring castles, antique toys, and royalty memorabilia from around the world are displayed throughout the buildings. The Castle's 1918 Museum showcases items from that time era, plus World War I memorabilia. Children delight in feeding the huge rainbow trout swimming in the Reflection Pond, playing a game of giant chess, or hide-and-seek with the fairies and gnomes dwelling in the Enchanted Forest. Our Self-Guided Tours offer Scavenger Hunt tours for children, too! Everyone loves The Castle's Garden Railroad; with more than 1/2 mile of track and 68 G-scale trains, it's one of the largest in the State. Listed on both the National and State Historic Registries, Castle Farms is a world-class historic property where old world charm and modern-day elegance enchant visitors of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Otwell, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staff was pleasant and informative. We enjoyed the beautiful gardens and the leisurely self guided tour. Loved the architecture of this old castle and found the history very interesting. Seems like a great place for children to run around an explore as well. Be sure to take some quarters to feed the ducks. Most areas were wheelchair / stroller accessible but there are a few areas you can only reach by stairs but overall very accessible. There was a craft show going on when we were there so it was very busy but still enjoyable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We’re glad to hear you had a chance to visit the Castle and enjoyed your recent visit. We agree that the Castle grounds and gardens are showcased in glorious splendor, and the magnificent stone buildings (nearly 100 years old) evoke a feeling of majesty. The Castle is open year round for self-guided tours. We do hope you’ll consider returning again in future. There’s always something new to see and do at Castle Farms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    50
    26
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Allen Park
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Went for craft show and took self-guided tour. Expected more was not impressed. Not very much to see. Had model train track and maze.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dragon175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience while visiting Castle Farms. We hope you enjoyed the Craft Show, and we’re glad to hear you discovered the Castle’s Model Garden Railroad. We think it’s a spectacular sight, especially since it’s one of the largest (if not THE largest) in the State of Michigan. We hope you took time to tour the other amenities to be found while taking a self-guided tour: the 1918 Museum (with its World War I memorabilia, and 1918 Sears catalogue collection), the royal family displays, plus all the castle and antique toy collections showcased throughout the beautiful stone buildings. Plus, there’s the Reflection Pond, the Enchanted Forest, and our brand new garden, The Dragon’s Lair, featuring Norm the Dragon, weighing in at nearly 3 tons, with razor sharp teeth, a 10-foot wing span, and nearly 6,900 scales. We look forward to welcoming you in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was like having my kids young again”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

As any mom knows, kids grow up too fast. My husband and I did a self-guided tour on an August Sunday with three boys ages 15, 11 and 10 and it felt like I got to go back in time a bit and be with my kids at a younger age again. While this place is an absolute heavenly fantasy-land for little ones, even my teenager enjoyed himself. As did mom and dad. It was a wonderful, sweet day. We had a family game of giant chess, loved feeding the raucous rainbow trout and ducks, enjoyed the fountains, courtyards, butterfly garden, the grounds in general with the giant dragon statue, along with the interior exhibits which included things like displays of china and mementos from "other" castles (enjoyed finding ones we had visited in our travels) and even the photos, posters and ticket stubs from the 80s when it was a concert venue. The architecture is great, the enchanted forest trail was fun, but I think our favorite was the garden railroads, which were whimsical and just fun to explore.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We love hearing from guests, and we’re delighted you enjoyed your recent visit to Castle Farms. We wholeheartedly agree that there’s something very special about the Castle. Just as you said, it’s like a fantasy-land suspended somewhere in time. We’re glad you had a chance to experience that magical majesty with your family, and to treasure the time you spent together at Castle Farms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Is lacking something, not what I expected.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I remember years back when the stage and the castle lied in ruins. I always thought this seemed like such a unique property and it is, however it wasn't quite what I expected. I think that Linda Mueller did a fantastic job restoring this building and it definitely is a jewel for Charlevoix, but in reality it is a glorified wedding and reception hall. There just didn't seem like a whole lot of substance to the complex. Very limited information was given out and a lot of the locations you visit you had to work your way around the workers and the wedding setup crews which took away from the ambiance of the property. Most of the people working the property when asked a question really didn't know the answer. I was expecting a whole lot more than what was offered, and when you choose to visit here, please remember that this was a farm, and not a home. The home lies somewhere beyond and really can't be seen from the property. A lot of the space in side are huge lengthy rooms where cows and horses once roamed. So, in turn, I am glad I was able to finally see it, but wouldn't need to return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to Castle Farms. We agree that our owner, Linda Mueller, has created a stunning jewel for the City of Charlevoix, and we are blessed to have her at the Castle and in our lives. We’re sorry that you found your experience somewhat lacking, including your interactions with some of our staff. Feedback such as you have given is important to us, and we will take the proper steps to rectify this situation. We hope you had a chance to visit the museums and explore all the unique historic collections on display. If not, please consider returning to the Castle some day. We would love a chance to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
242 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Very nice, but I expected more”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The overall setting is beautiful, and all of the staff were very friendly. The grounds are well kept and worth a visit. The train set up is impressive, but more whimiscal than most train set displays. I'm sure that it would be a great place for a wedding or other event, but to simply stop for a self guided tour is not bad, but a little expensive for what you get. The entire grounds is handicapped accessible( except for the tower in the train area).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank michigander311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing about your recent visit to Castle Farms. We’re glad you enjoyed your tour (and especially our trains – the Castle’s model garden railroad is one of the largest in the State of Michigan). We hope you took time to browse though all the collections (including the 1918 Museum, which contains WWI memorabilia and the 1918 Sears catalog collection), as well as peruse the historical artifacts displayed throughout our beautiful buildings. There’s a reason Castle Farms is listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Farms also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Castle Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing