We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds steeped in rich history.”
Review of Castle Farms

Castle Farms
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Open year round, Castle Farms is one of Northern Michigan's top historic attractions, as well as one of the Midwest's premier wedding venues. Visitors can stroll throughout the magnificent stone buildings dating back to 1918, and enjoy gorgeous gardens. A variety of museum quality collections featuring castles, antique toys, and royalty memorabilia from around the world are displayed throughout the buildings. The Castle's 1918 Museum showcases items from that time era, plus World War I memorabilia. Children delight in feeding the huge rainbow trout swimming in the Reflection Pond, playing a game of giant chess, or hide-and-seek with the fairies and gnomes dwelling in the Enchanted Forest. Our Self-Guided Tours offer Scavenger Hunt tours for children, too! Everyone loves The Castle's Garden Railroad; with more than 1/2 mile of track and 68 G-scale trains, it's one of the largest in the State. Listed on both the National and State Historic Registries, Castle Farms is a world-class historic property where old world charm and modern-day elegance enchant visitors of all ages.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed January 18, 2013

When I was a young adult the Castle was somewhat run down but there was a large stage and a gentle sloping hill where I heard many of the bands of that day. The Police, Heart, Beach Boys, Temptations and 4 Tops, Billy Idol, Rod Stewart and The Monkees.

Fast forward and it's a gorgeous venue for dinners, art showings, and especially weddings. It's absolutely gorgeous with outdoor sites for weddings, gardens, etc.

It's worth a visit if you're in the Charlevoix area of northern Michigan.

Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

We love hearing from guests who share their stories of the Castle during the concert era. The stage is gone, but the memories of the music will always linger. Our current owner, Linda Mueller, undertook a complete restoration, and our beautiful Castle Farms is now open to visitors for guided and self-guided tours, as well as weddings and events. We look forward to welcoming you again in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"self guided tour"
in 47 reviews
"gift shop"
in 21 reviews
"dairy farm"
in 11 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 10 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 8 reviews
"interesting history"
in 10 reviews
"the dragon"
in 6 reviews
"miniature train"
in 5 reviews
"model railroad"
in 4 reviews
"taking place"
in 4 reviews
"this place is amazing"
in 4 reviews
"chess game"
in 4 reviews
"tram ride"
in 4 reviews
"reflection pond"
in 4 reviews
"grand rapids"
in 4 reviews
"outdoor wedding"
in 3 reviews
"gorgeous venue"
in 3 reviews
Filter

254 - 258 of 299 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Beautiful wedding spot with lots of attention to detail. Even wedding pictures in the rain are amazing here.

Thank tseidell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Even on a gloomy day, The Castle is a memorable spot! We love our Castle brides and grooms, and we always enjoy hearing from families and friends who’ve helped celebrate weddings at Castle Farms. We’re delighted you enjoyed your time spent at The Castle. Please give the bride and groom our very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This attraction is extraordinary. In its past it has been an estate, a rock concert venue, a dilapidated mess and now a beautiful place for weddings, art shows, antiques shows and just for touring. It is the closet thing to a European castle in the Midwest USA

Thank rsvat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for letting us know about your tour of Castle Farms. We agree that The Castle has a rich fascinating history, and the architectural features of the great stone walls and buildings are reminiscent of a French Renaissance castle. Many of the spectacular Castle gardens are formal terraces based on French design. We hope you will consider visiting in future when our gardens are once again in full bloom. There’s always something new to see and do at Castle Farms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went to the castle in October to see the antique bridal & quilt show. We were very disappointed to find that the write up didn't match what the display was! We were expecting quilts and gowns dating back to 1795 thru 2000, what we saw were 10 gowns & 10 bathing suits. I would recommend calling ahead of time to confirm that the display items are what you are expecting to see. Kathy in the gift shop made things right and was very apologetic! It was very interesting to see the renovated castle and read about its history. I would recommend that if you're not going for a particle reason go when the gardens are all in bloom and all the trains and fountains are active! Visiting earlier in the year, gives you the opportunity to enjoy the splendor of the grounds.

Thank 1exploringtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent visit to Castle Farms. This was the 3rd year for our Antique Wedding Gown display, an annual week-long event in October eagerly anticipated by guests and staff alike. Due to limited space, our owner made a last minute decision not to display her fabulous collection of antique quilts as in previous years. Instead, she chose to play around a theme of weddings (antique gowns) and honeymoons (vintage bathing suits and beach gear). We’re happy to hear you enjoyed the rest of your historic self-guided tour, and we hope you will consider returning in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from a family wedding that was held here and it was an awesome experience! Just walking the grounds was so fun...butterfly garden, huge train set, outdoor chess..all easy and clean. Then we had the ceremony outside in the courtyard and the reception inside. What a lovely memory!

1  Thank lvgal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Congratulations! Family weddings are lovely, and we’re so glad you were able to celebrate all together here at Castle Farms. On behalf of the entire Castle Farms staff, please give the bride and groom our very best. We wish them many years of happiness!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Farms also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Castle Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing