We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty gardens”
Review of Castle Farms

Castle Farms
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Open year round, Castle Farms is one of Northern Michigan's top historic attractions, as well as one of the Midwest's premier wedding venues. Visitors can stroll throughout the magnificent stone buildings dating back to 1918, and enjoy gorgeous gardens. A variety of museum quality collections featuring castles, antique toys, and royalty memorabilia from around the world are displayed throughout the buildings. The Castle's 1918 Museum showcases items from that time era, plus World War I memorabilia. Children delight in feeding the huge rainbow trout swimming in the Reflection Pond, playing a game of giant chess, or hide-and-seek with the fairies and gnomes dwelling in the Enchanted Forest. Our Self-Guided Tours offer Scavenger Hunt tours for children, too! Everyone loves The Castle's Garden Railroad; with more than 1/2 mile of track and 68 G-scale trains, it's one of the largest in the State. Listed on both the National and State Historic Registries, Castle Farms is a world-class historic property where old world charm and modern-day elegance enchant visitors of all ages.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed September 18, 2012

It was a pleasant walk through the gardens. Each section has a theme; the most unique is probably the one featuring a model railroad. One can also tour the castle house.

Thank Aleise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to Castle Farms. We agree that our Castle gardens are magnificent. The seasonal blooms carry us into autumnal colors until the winter snows eventually cover the grounds and railroad tracks. We always look forward to the coming of spring, for it heralds the return of buds and blossoms, bringing fragrant reminisces of seasons past, as well as returning guests. Visitors here at The Castle marvel at touring the original dairy barns and buildings, which were once lived in by farm workers, plus 200 head of Albert Loeb’s prize winning dairy cattle. We love welcoming visitors to Castle Farms, and we hope to see you in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"self guided tour"
in 47 reviews
"gift shop"
in 21 reviews
"dairy farm"
in 11 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 10 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 8 reviews
"interesting history"
in 10 reviews
"the dragon"
in 6 reviews
"miniature train"
in 5 reviews
"model railroad"
in 4 reviews
"taking place"
in 4 reviews
"this place is amazing"
in 4 reviews
"chess game"
in 4 reviews
"tram ride"
in 4 reviews
"reflection pond"
in 4 reviews
"grand rapids"
in 4 reviews
"outdoor wedding"
in 3 reviews
"gorgeous venue"
in 3 reviews
Filter

262 - 266 of 300 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

I thought it would be further off of the road and you would be able to move from one area of an event to another without having to cross through someone elses event. Not that it wasn't pretty it just didn't live up to the hype for me :/

Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for sharing your recent experience while visiting Castle Farms. Quite often guests visiting The Castle for a self-guided tour will ask, “What is this all about?” They’re not sure what to expect. The Castle offers a unique opportunity to view historic buildings, magnificent gardens, and museum quality collections. There are numerous activities for children such as traversing the Hedge Maze, feeding the fish in the Reflection Pond, playing a game of giant chess, wandering through the Enchanted Forest, and viewing the Garden Railroad. We do hope that you had a chance to enjoy some, if not all, of these activities, and that you will consider visiting again in future. There’s always something new to see and do at Castle Farms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I've heard such great things about Castle Farms. While traveling from Traverse City to Mackinac, we decided to take a slight detour to see Castle Farms. Everything looked gorgeous but you have to pay to look at it. You couldn't walk in any gardens or go past the gift shop to use the restroom. My SIL had to change my niece and the woman behind the counter gave her the hardest time. She finally gave in, with an attitude and said she'd better return as soon as she was done changing her. What was my SIL going to do? Take the baby and run around the castle? We made our chintzy purchases and left.

Thank Eenwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns regarding your recent visit to Castle Farms. The magnificent gardens and historic buildings with museum quality collections offer guests a unique experience. We’re sure you can understand why a nominal fee is requested in order to tour the property. We are very sorry that you had a negative experience while visiting our Welcome Center. The interaction you mentioned is certainly not typical and we have addressed your concerns with the staff involved, so as to ensure that every guest is welcomed in a manner befitting royalty. We do hope you will consider visiting Castle Farms again in future. Please let us know before your planned visit. We would welcome the opportunity to greet you in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

If you travel to Charlevois be sure to visit Castle Farms. The have gorgeous and interesting gardens there. By far my favorites were the butterfly and children's were there are moving trains!!! I especially lived the history behind Castle Farms- originally was a dairy farm then later Rock Concerts were held there in "the day". Stevie Nicks, Heart, Ozzy Osborne to name a few. My only wish is that the guided tour was going on that day. We had to guide ourself. I am so happy to have visited this special place and do not forget to check out the enchanted forest.

Thank Mackma06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for sharing your recent experience when visiting Castle Farms. We’re glad you enjoyed the rich history of The Castle, which dates back to 1918, plus our gorgeous gardens, and the Castle’s Model Garden Railroad (one of the largest in the State of Michigan). Castle Farms is happy to accommodate guided tours of groups of eight or more, but arrangements must be made in advance. We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

What a gorgeous place to visit! We took almost 300 pictures and all our friends have made multiple comments about how beautiful it is! And the staff is wonderful too!

1  Thank Suzy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlefarms, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Farms, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent visit to Castle Farms. We agree that The Castle buildings and gardens are beautiful, which is why we always encourage guests to take as many photographs as they like. We’re happy to hear that you’ve shared them with your friends. We also appreciate your compliments about The Castle Staff. We’ll be certain to pass those along. Thank you again for visiting Castle Farms. We look forward to welcoming you in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Farms also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Castle Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing