We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
94
25
3
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
25
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews angel room granola beach room front porch family style in town beautiful walk blueberry pancakes royal oak walking distance to restaurants b bs private bathroom home away from home gracious hosts other guests lake michigan friendly place
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 126 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2018

We love staying with Michelle and Armand. They create such a relaxed environment for all of their guests. The bed was so comfortable and breakfast was amazing. My husband loved visiting with Rocky too. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santa49303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armand C, Owner at MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind remarks, you are exactly what we strive for "Happy Campers". It's a really​ nice feeling when we hear that we made someone's stay a pleasurable experience.

Love, Armand, and Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018

For our first visit to Charlevoix we chose MacDougall House to stay, and we were more than delighted. We were first struck by the plethora of flowers adorning the premises. Armand and Michelle made us feel like family the moment we walked in the door. We stayed in the lovely, comfortable Angel Room, complete with its little sitting room between the bedroom and the bathroom. We could walk to downtown and to the nearby beach our hosts pointed out. Both our breakfasts were sumptuous. We hated to leave, and I hope we'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jmartiind35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armand C, Owner at MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2018

Thank you for your kind words, nothing pleases Michelle and me​ more than knowing we made someone stay a wonderful experience. We look forward to your return visits.
Love, Armand and Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018

Like Charlevoix, the MacDougall House is swimming in flowers at this time of year. Our host, Rocky, made us feel at home right away. Michelle and Armand were more than accommodating and felt more like family than hoteliers. The food was beautifully prepared and presented. And the evening in the back garden by the fire pit was the highlight of our trip. If you are looking for $500 a yard carpet and priceless antiques this is not the place for you. MacDougall House is not a museum. But if you are looking for a charming experience, convenient proximity to everything, warm hosts, and wonderful food it is a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armand C, Owner at MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words, Michelle and I love to hear that we helped make someones vacation a pleasant experience.

May God continue to bless you always.

Love, Armand, ​and Michelle

P.S. We fixed the door :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

We had a great 2 night stay with Armand and Michelle. The house and yard are decorated very nicely. Food each morning was a nice selection. Day one was hashbrown and egg casserole, blueberry pancakes, bacon and fruit with yogurt and granola to top if you wanted. Day two was eggs, biscuits and gravy, sausage, hash browns and again fruit with toppings. I like that it was family style so you could pick and choose. I liked this so i could customize. There was plenty of food too if you’re a bigger eater. We stayed in the lighthouse room which was homey and nice. Only bummer was bathroom door doesn’t close all the way and because the room is small like most B&Bs, the lack of privacy is a little awkward. Next time I’d choose another room but no complaints because at $95 a night you can’t beat it! Also, you are .4 of a mile from downtown so walking distance. Great location!! Oh they also have a resident cat and dog. Both are friendly. I’d definitely stay again next time we are in town, the hosts were very friendly and we had a great stay!

Stayed: July 2018
Thank starlight29341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armand C, Owner at MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words, Michelle and I love to hear that we helped make someones vacation a pleasant experience.

May God continue to bless you always.

Love, Armand and Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017

Hosts Armand and Michelle were great. Room very nice with comfortable bed and private bath. The location was easy to find. Rocky the dog (little guy) and Killer the cat provided great entertainment without being troublesome at all. The breakfast was fabulous, even thought the power went out 20 minutes before it was served (transformer blew someplace in the neighborhood). We were the only visitors for the single weeknight we stayed and got our hosts' undivided attention. Interesting and friendly people. We're glad we found this place. We don't always stay at bed and breakfast inns, only on special trips. This is our 5th one, I think, and each one is distinctly different. We really enjoyed it. Cost was modest, but if you want cheap lodging, B&B should not be1st choice.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jimisleib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armand C, Owner at MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Dear Jim, Michelle and I can't begin to express our gratitude for your kind words. I is always our goal to serve our guest with the best that we can offer and when we make their stay a pleasant experience we beam with satisfaction.

May God bless you both now and always.

Love, Armand and Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews