We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
95
25
3
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
25
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews angel room beach room granola wonderful hosts front porch family style other guests in town blueberry pancakes royal oak walking distance to restaurants highly recommend this b b beautiful flowers home away from home northern michigan each morning an ideal location
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 127 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2016

Great place to stay, warm welcome,delicious breakfast. Made us feel very comfortable for our first time using a B&B. Walking distance perfect to town and lake. Would be happy to go back again. A must if in the area.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank j0hnr28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armand C, Owner at MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016

Thank you so much for the warm review, Michelle and I truly appreciate your feed back as we strive to please all of our guests.
God bless you and keep you safe and well always.

w/love, Armand and Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

Armand and Michelle went out of their way to make us welcome. The location and breakfast were outstanding, the Angel Room was clean and comfortable. I would be happy to stay with them again. It was a easy walk to town, and close to Castle Farms where we attended a wedding. Very nice people who are interesting and enjoy their work.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank TouristaMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armand C, Owner at MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

Thank you so much for your kind words, Michelle and I truly appreciate it and are so glad that we helped make your vacation pleasant and comfortable.

God bless you and keep you well and safe.

Armand and Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016

stayed two nights in Aug. 2016:Good room themes (beach room was roomier than we expected), clean and neat, breakfast outstanding, hosts friendly and helpful, we were welcomed like family. We would do this again.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank patriciaorcutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armand C, Owner at MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

Thank you for your beautiful and kind remarks, it means the world to Michelle and I to know that we helped make your vacation a success.

Love, Armand and Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights. We didn't realize it was during the Venetian Festival so we really appreciated the fact that it was in walking distance to town. We ended up going into Charlevoix for an evening concert and parking and traffic would have been a big challenge but we just walked home after. When we left we realized that we hadn't used our vehicle the entire time we were here!
Another reviewer described the house well - it is not a showpiece inside (although the flowers on the outside were gorgeous!) and the furnishings were more practical than period but it was comfortable and inviting.
The reason I give it 5 stars is that the hosts were wonderful. They were helpful in guiding us to where to eat, where to find petoskey stones, lending us bikes and chairs, etc. The breakfast was great and plentiful. Michelle and Armand both love to cook, and apparently they had to agree on a cooking schedule (Michelle does breakfasts) since neither wanted to give up cooking!
We stayed in the Angel room. There is some traffic noise but we had the option of opening windows or using a window air conditioner, which helped with any noise. There is a restaurant to the north within a short bike ride that was nice to avoid the more crowded downtown area AND it wasn't busy there so no waiting.
It was several blocks to downtown but if you wanted to go to look for Petoskey stones or the beach there was a short cut less than a block away that we used.
We would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: July 2016
Thank Kazoofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armand C, Owner at MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2016

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Nothing warms our hearts more than knowing that we helped make your vacation a success.
May God bless you and keep watching over you.
w/love, Armand and Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

Our stay at MacDougall House was incredible! Our schedule was a little odd, but Michelle and Armand were very accommodating, letting us check in early and working with us with everything. The room was clean, comfortable, and exactly what we needed. And breakfast was absolutely awesome! I highly recommend that anyone in Charlevoix stay here.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfcarlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armand C, Owner at MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2016

Thank you for your kind words, Michelle and I truly appreciate the wonderful review. May you be well and safe always and may God continue to bless you.
w/love, Armand and Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews