We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Bearly" Tolerable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlevoix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Charlevoix B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our small bicycling group stayed 1 night at MacDougall House and my husband and I were assigned the Teddy Bear Room which we would not recommend. It was cluttered with dusty stuffed teddy bears, photos of bears and bear knick-knacks. When I say everywhere, I mean above the door & window frames, the valances, every chair, on the bed, in the corners, bear light switch, chain pull & even in the bathroom. The top and bottom wallpaper borders - bears at attention, circling the room. I think you get the picture. We could have overlooked the "decorating" but these bears were taking up valuable space for seating and surface areas for luggage, etc. in this small room (that had a "hill" in the middle of the floor at the foot of the bed).
The toughest part w as the bathroom that had a 2ft x 2ft shower. My husband had a frustrating time managing a thorough shower in such tight quarters and he's of average size. The towels had a strange smell like they'd been washed in cheap detergent and the cotton bath rugs looked as though the hadn't been switched out from the last guest.
There was a dog and cat in residence.
The front porch looked cozy but was in need of a thorough cob web removal & scrubbing, especially the side door that was covered in dirt, webs & entrapped bugs.
The other cyclists, one in the lighthouse room and 3 in the Raggedy Ann & Andy rooms, were more comfortable and their showers were of average size.
The smoothie at breakfast was tasty.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GypsyOnABike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armand C, Director of Sales at MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear GypsyOnABike;
Michelle and I are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the MacDougall B&B, as our reviews reflect the great majority of our guests find their stay with us quite pleasant and do not hesitate to recommend our B&B to their friends and others. However, we understand that we cannot please everyone, every time, with that in mind, we promise you that if you return to visit us and point out what we can do to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable, we will do our best to accommodate you. We look forward to seeing you again. May God keep you safe and well. Armand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 120 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Armand and Michelle are wonderful hosts!! Michelle cooks a great breakfast!! We enjoyed our visit and would definitely visit again!!! We had a wonderful visit over breakfast with the other guests and our hosts! Rocky is awful sweet too!! Felt like we were there with old friends.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mommajo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the MacDougal House B&B this summer. We were attending a wedding in the area.
We enjoyed the stay, and loved the breakfasts. Michelle and Armand are very personable.
It's a very relaxed setting. We will return to this B&B!
Susanne and Andy

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Michelle and Armand are great people. They were very accommodating to our requests. Their house is well kept and the breakfasts are excellent. I loved the french toast. Staying here was a much value than a hotel of the same price. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cptruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The owners, Armand and Michelle, are very sweet and accommodating! We stayed 2 nights over Labor Day weekend. Very close to downtown, walking distance to restaurants, shopping and beach. Breakfast was delicious! You definitely feel at home and relaxed during your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JYSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed over Labor Day weekend in the Teddy Bear room. It was quaint and comfortable. I agree with one of the other reviewers in that there were a few too many knick knacks in our room (Our case, Teddy Bears), however, they were easy to move. The owners were very gregarious and were quick to accommodate us in any way. This was very welcomed since we were traveling with an infant. We enjoyed their company as well as their daughter, & Rocky the friendly resident Shitzu-Maltese doggie. Breakfast was delicious and being so close to town was a big perk. We'll be back...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was our first experience staying at a B & B and we found it very pleasant. We drove by it by accident but then turned around and found it. There is parking in their driveway. We stayed in the Princess Room and it was the only room on the first floor. It had a television in the room. It was close to the kitchen so you did hear when breakfast was being made. There was also an ice machine that was close by so it was a little noisy. Michelle and Armond were very pleasant and made you feel comfortable. Breakfast was fresh fruit, yogurt, scrambled eggs, bacon, French toast, smoothies and the next day it was fresh fruit, yogurt, a wonderful cheese omelet, homemade jams , sausages and homefries. Decaf and regular coffee was offered as well as tea. The house has beautiful flowers outside . You could walk to the downtown area and leave your car at the house so that was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CubaqueenOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
0.8 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
0.3 mi away
Pointes North Inn
Pointes North Inn
#3 of 9 in Charlevoix
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#5 of 9 in Charlevoix
117 reviews
15.1 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
776 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 109 Petoskey Ave, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1161
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Charlevoix
Price Range: $68 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to a cozy bed and breakfast in Charlevoix, Michigan in our home that dates back to 1896. Relax and linger over a hot and hearty homemade breakfast, enjoy our beautiful gardens, and take in the diverse pleasures of Charlevoix the Beautiful in northern Michigan. We offer six beautifully furnished rooms, all with private baths, free wireless internet, television and air conditioning. Recreational activities abound, all within a short walking distance or drive: beach, golf, sailing, kayaking, bicycling, and downhill or cross country skiing. Northern Michigan's shopping and dining venues can't be beat; you will find antiques, fashion, and fine art in our quaint downtown and beyond, and can relax at any of a wide variety of casual and fine dining establishments once you've filled your shopping bags. The area features a number of wineries and craft breweries and if you love finding thrift store treasures, you will love it here! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing