We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXACTLY what we hoped it would be!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlevoix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Charlevoix B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 3, 2011

d I go on motorcycle adventures. I'm not talking about a little ride around home, I mean long haul trips to destinations unknown. In this particular instance, we left from Southfield MI and headed to Charlevoix MI. The route we took was about 600kms. Needless to say, when we arrived we needed a place to dump our bike, bags and most of all a BEACH.

The B & B was pretty, clean, well appointed. Our room was on the second floor. We had a bedroom (with 4 post queen bed), a sitting room and a private bathroom. The cost... $98.00. UNREAL. It was white, soft and relaxing. Windows everywhere allowing the breeze from Lake Michigan to fill the room.

Our hosts then directed us to the beach. A marathon 2 minute walk and 26 stairs later we were on a perfect strip of sand and beach grass. The water was refreshing and clean. The beach was quiet despite it being a uber-busy weekend in Charlevoix and Michigan in general.

We wandered back to the B & B, changed and headed into town (another giant walk - 10 minutes). There the main drag offers food, ice cream, retail, marina, out door band stand, ferry dock and some live music on the street. A stop in at Cherry Republic is a must. Cherry everything. I don't even really love cherries and I loved what they could do with them. We also had the world famous sweet potato chips and whitefish at the Villager's Pub.

Back to the B & B for a restful sleep on the feather topped mattress. Breakfast was family style and exceptional. It was made up of homemade granola, candied bacon and french toast stuffed with cream cheese and cherries. YUM!!!!

Knowing how way leads on to way, we probably will not be back this way, but if we were, we woud without a doubt stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 4 is full of windows, breeze abd light. Bedroom, sitting room and private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rucksack-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 120 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2011

If you are looking for a clean and cozy B&B this is the place for you. Steve was welcoming and informative from the very start. Little extras could be found everywhere, from the fresh flowers on the porch near the door, to the candle lit walkway that leads you home after a long day. Steve made wonderful breakfasts which included stuffed french toast (my huband's favorite) , homemade granola with chunks of dried fruit (my favorite) and sinfully delicious bacon - of which I ate WAY TOO MUCH! The location is great and the prices are more than fair.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLB4125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We were attending a wedding and decided to stay at the MacDougall House. Steve was a gracious host and his meals were delicious. We even stayed with our 14 month old and he was very accommodating (Providing his grand daughter's cutlery and high chair).

We would go back and recommend The MacDougall House.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjuwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed there over the marathon weekend in town. The place was very clean & well kept. The owners are very pleasant and welcoming. The breakfast was exquisite! If you want a vacation to NW Michigan for a few days, I would highly recommend the MacDougall House. Just keep one thing in mind..it's an old house with plaster walls......noise travels.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natorade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here the night before we got married in Charlevoix. What an adorable place. The garden is so pretty, the house is precious and the Bennetts are the greatest. They bent over backwards to help us with the wedding details. The breakfast that Steve prepared was absolutely scrumptious. We are already planning a return trip on our anniversary. Thank you Bennetts for making our special day turn out perfect!!!! Love you guys!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Equalls7111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

What a great weekend! The room was very clean, hospitality was amazing, breakfast was incredible! I couldnt be happier! I would and already have recommended this bed and breakfast to anyone! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattsinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Such a wonderful place to stay! Each room has its own personality and character. The bed was very comfy. Breakfast was amazing! Stuffed french toast, homemade granola, and the "ultimate" bacon. We felt like part of the family the whole weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlgroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
0.8 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
0.3 mi away
Pointes North Inn
Pointes North Inn
#3 of 9 in Charlevoix
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#5 of 9 in Charlevoix
116 reviews
15.1 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
776 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 109 Petoskey Ave, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1161
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Charlevoix
Price Range: $68 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to a cozy bed and breakfast in Charlevoix, Michigan in our home that dates back to 1896. Relax and linger over a hot and hearty homemade breakfast, enjoy our beautiful gardens, and take in the diverse pleasures of Charlevoix the Beautiful in northern Michigan. We offer six beautifully furnished rooms, all with private baths, free wireless internet, television and air conditioning. Recreational activities abound, all within a short walking distance or drive: beach, golf, sailing, kayaking, bicycling, and downhill or cross country skiing. Northern Michigan's shopping and dining venues can't be beat; you will find antiques, fashion, and fine art in our quaint downtown and beyond, and can relax at any of a wide variety of casual and fine dining establishments once you've filled your shopping bags. The area features a number of wineries and craft breweries and if you love finding thrift store treasures, you will love it here! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing