We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mushroom Houses of Charlevoix

Mushroom Houses of Charlevoix
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We offer a spectacular GEM car tour of all 28 of these magical structures. You can also visit the Charlevoix Chamber of Commerce to pick up a map and do a self guided tour.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The "Mushroom Houses" area delight to see. It makes you wonder about the interior personality. The only thing that would make this better would be an inside tour. Great idea for a charity event perhaps ?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    66
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
155 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Mystical Attractions Well Worth the Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Earl Young, renowned local architect, designed several homes in the Charlevoix area of stone construction with irregular roof lines. As a result, there are several homes in close proximity to be seen. In addition, be sure to drive to Boulder Park to see magnificent homes constructed from very large boulders . These homes face the shore of Lake Michigan. (Note: One of his commercial projects was the Weathervane Terrace Inn on the channel in downtown Charlevoix.) All the buildings seem to have been well maintained and are a joy to drive by. Please note that these homes are private residences and are not open to the public.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MPatrick33629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Indiana
Level Contributor
263 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Hobbit Homes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The "Mushroom Home Tour" was part of a tour offered by our cruise ship while in port at Charlevoix. I had never heard of them before, but enjoyed seeing the unique homes designed and built by the local architect Earl Young. These homes are only found in this area and have a "storybook" look to them. His homes have few straight lines and he often refused to cut down a tree, but would build the home around the trees, so they appeared to have sprung up around the homes. He seemed to have a penchant for undulating roof lines and huge fireplaces made from local boulders. Many of the homes are a short walk from downtown Charlevoix in the Boulder Park neighborhood. And we returned on foot after the tour to get a better look at the homes. They are privately owned so please respect their privacy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tagnrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun to Drive By”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Mushroom houses, hobbit homes, boulder houses are all very cute and interesting to see scattered here and there. It is important to remember people live here, they are residential homes not open to the public, so being mindful of traffic and the privacy of the residents is key but otherwise it was charming to look at them as we drove through the city. If you are in the area, you must take a few minutes just to take a look.

Although the houses are owned and occupied by actual people who deserve their privacy and space respected, they did choose to purchase and live in homes that are considered an attraction of the Charlevoix, so I would like to express my appreciation for their patience and understanding and for sharing their noteworthy homes with the visitors to the Charlevoix area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kincora1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
226 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We did not know about these lovely little houses, but found out about them by accident while visiting Charlevoix. So glad we did! The weather was beautiful even though it was January, so we were able to drive around and photograph these little gems. If you are in the area, it is well worth your time to check them out!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 123Freckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mushroom Houses of Charlevoix also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Mushroom Houses of Charlevoix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing